Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


You Dropped A Bomb On Me

2006-06-09 - 9:55 a.m.

Saw in the news yesterday that Abu Musab al-Zarqawi, second-in-command for al-Qaeda, was killed.

He's not only merely dead, he's really most sincerely dead.

To quote one of my famorite movies:

Yippie-kay-yay, motherfucker.

===

Also in the news:

Some Democrats are actually saying this was staged, and that President Bush knew al-Zarqawi was dead, had been dead for awhile, and pulled the body out to make himself look good. Congressman Pete Stark from my own state of California actually said that Bush had al-Zarqawi killed to cover for the deaths of civilians in Iraq and to boost his poll numbers.

Let me get this straight: if al-Zarqawi remains free Bush takes shit for not being able to find him. If al-Zarqawi is killed, Bush takes shit for trying to get people's attention away from his poll numbers.

Double-standard, anyone?

Aside: if Bush were going to do something like this, wouldn't he have done it BEFORE the election, to boost the Republican vote?

===

Speaking of Democrats...

I also saw that Barbra Streisand is starting a new concert tour.

I seem to recall her "farewell" tour several yaers ago. She was going to do some farewell shows "for the fans". She did two shows in LA and two shows in New York. The price for floor seats was $2,500...and that's NOT the ticket agent's price. That was the BOX OFFICE price. Nosebleed seats were something like $500.

AND...she announced that most of the money she got would go to the DNC.

So she did four Democratic fund-raisers as a "farewell" tour. "For the fans".

Somehow, I can't help thinking that if someone did something like that for the Republicans, they'd be demonized for charging so much and keeping it out of the hands of "real" fans and raising money for liars and cheats and so on and so on.

I admit to being conservative. And I'm not happy with a lot of things the President and the GOP has done, and continues to do.

But sometimes...the "do what we say not as we do" attitude some politicians take just amazes me.

===

Rant over. Be seeing you.



===

0 comments so far

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.