Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Old Days

2006-07-22 - 12:31 p.m.

This is Day Two of the three Saturday nights I have been asked to work at Camelot...which means we have a substitute drummer.

I've been singing with this band for nineteen years, and so I'm relied on a great deal for lead and harmony vocals. The substitute is the drummer I replaced. He plays well, but he doesn't sing. So Bob won't be able to do most of my songs because he doesn't know most of the lyrics. He has enough trouble focusing on playing guitar, calling the songs, working the crowd, etc. So it's stressful for him to not have me there. It's stressful for me because I WANT to be there.

But then, Camelot has worked around my band schedule for the entirety of the fourteen years I've been working there. It's only fair that I work around THEM for once.

===

The gray cat hasn't been back on my stoop in awhile.

There are a lot of cars that race around, both on the streets and in the alleys. I hope he's okay.

I'm a cat person. I like all pets - dogs, birds, fish, snakes, whatever - but since I'm away so much I prefer feline companionship. We're allowed to have pets, but my roomie doesn't like fur.

If things work out in the future, I'd like to have two cats: a fair-haired male and a brown female.

Their names? The male will be The Doctor, and the female will be his companion, Peri.

Ten points if you get the reference.

===

I've discovered something as I've gotten older: I value my "quiet time".

Just sitting back and relaxing, watching a DVD or a ball game on the TV, or reading a book or newspaper, listening to CDs...I've discovered more of a need for it.

I don't think it's the kids playing in the schoolyard outside. That's just background buzz.

But just "alone time". Maxing and relaxing.

===

Turns out I was wrong: Animaniacs Volume 1 comes out this coming Tuesday, on July 25th.

But season 4 of The Pretender did come out on Tuesday...and again, by waiting until Friday I'll save about 30% when I buy it.

I'd love it if they did one more, to wrap it all up. There are still so many questions left unanswered. The creators of the show have said they just need funding for a final movie - it's already been written. I hope they get it. I'd love to see it.

And Andrea Parker was just so good.

===

That's all for today. Be seeing you.



===

1 comments so far

Brin McLaughlin - 2006-07-22 16:50:20 -
Well, dear, I know who the cat names go with; but I think there's that waiver about 'employees and their families are not eligible'... :-)

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.