Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Back Home Again

2006-07-28 - 8:50 a.m.

So I left at about 10:15 to meet up with John and Brin in a little town called Paso Robles. To get there, I took the 5 freeway to the 46, and then the 46 to the 101. We planned to meet there at a Denny's.

The 5 winds through Los Angeles (morning commute mostly over, but some stoppages), through a mountain range (6% uphill grade for first five miles, some ups and downs, and then 6% downhill grade for last five miles), then through about another fifty miles of nothing before you hit the 46.

And that's the scenic part of the trip. There really is nothing at all to see during the sixty-mile portion of one-lane-each-direction that is the 46, except for the James Dean Memorial Junction. No, I'm not making this up. It's at the junction of the 41 and the 46, smack in the middle of nowhere. Here's the link.

I reach Paso Robles and the junction of the 46 and the 101. No Denny's...and there's a LOT of traffic. Uh oh.

I drive about a mile and find a nice lady who tells me to turn around and go back to the 101. I find ANOTHER nice lady at a Shell station who says the Denny's is just behind the Shell station. I look, and by God there it is. It's set back from the road a bit, and there's no sign on the street to even indicate that a Denny's is there. Oh, there's a sign on a big post, which you can see from the 101. But if you're going west on the 46, like I was? Forget it - you have to KNOW it's there.

I also find out what was causing all the traffic. The Mid-State Fair was in town! And so was everybody in the area, because the fair was literally on the other side of the Denny's parking lot wall!

Boy, did WE pick the right day to do this little junket!

Anyway, I get out my cell phone and call to let Brin I know I had finally found it...and here they came, pulling into the parking lot. I had just gotten out of the car to stretch.

We had our reunion lunch, swapped Brin's luggage to my car, and Brin and I took the scenic 101 back to Anaheim. This trip took four hours and forty minutes. By the time we got to Anaheim, we were hungry and bushed. We stopped off at another Denny's - wow, those places are EVERYWHERE! - for dinner. Then I took her to her sleeping area, helped her unpack, and then I went to my respective area to sleep.

And that was my day: eleven of almost 12 hours spent behind the wheel.

No wonder I passed out once I got to bed.

===

President Bush has a new neighbor:

CRAWFORD � War protesters will have a new and bigger gathering place when they return in August to President Bush's adopted hometown: a 5-acre lot bought with insurance money that Cindy Sheehan received after her son was killed in Iraq.

Gerry Fonseca, a fellow war protester who acted as Sheehan's agent, said he recently bought the vacant lot about seven miles from Bush's ranch for $52,500.

"If Cindy Sheehan came to town, I don't think anybody would have sold her any property," Fonseca, of Eagle Rock, Mo., said Thursday.

Sheehan, of Berkeley, Calif., started the protest last August. She told the Associated Press in an e-mail Thursday that the group simply wanted more space.

"We decided to buy property in Crawford to use until George's resignation or impeachment, which we all hope is soon for the sake of the world," Sheehan, whose oldest son Casey was killed in Iraq in 2004, said in a newsletter to supporters Thursday.

Bush is to be at the ranch during the first two weeks of August.


Does this change her status from "protester" to "stalker"?

By all accounts, her son WANTED to go to Iraq. And she used his insurance money to buy the property.

Somebody alert Cal Tech - a seismic monitor needs to be placed near a gravesite!

Another thing - I thought she was planning to move to Venezuela, that hot-bed of freedom. Why buy property in the US? Oh wait, it's for the group. So she'll sell it, possibly make a profit, and THEN go. But wait again - I'll just bet that, if a Democrat is elected in 2008, Cindy will decide the USA isn't so bad after all!

===

Well, I have company to attend to. Be seeing you.



===

0 comments so far

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.