Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Good Thing

2006-08-03 - 9:01 a.m.

Last night, a customer found someone's cell phone. My usual procedure is to look at the list of phone numbers for something like "Home" or "Mom", and then call that number to notify them about the lost phone ("Hi, my name is Dave, I'm calling from a lost cell phone that has this number under 'Mom'...could you contact your child" etc.)

Since this happened at 10:40pm, I figured a call at this hour would be a Bad Idea. Mom might panic, thinking that their child is in big trouble.

So, what to do? Well, based on the ladybug stickers that decorated it, and the picture used as the "wallpaper" (along with the caption "i LoVe HiM"), I figured it belonged to a girl. And I know it's stereotypical, but girls talk on the phone a lot. So I kept it in my pocket, figuring to answer the next call and explain.

Sure enough, it rang within five minutes. It was the boyfriend - the guy in the picture. He told me his girlfriend was freaking out because she'd lost her phone. I told him that we would still be open for at least another hour, and he replied that he'd be right there. Sure enough, he was there in less than ten minutes.

To quote Bugs Bunny, "That was me good deed for today."

One of my employees asked me why I went to all that trouble. "They lost it, let them figure it out."

Call it karma, but my brain just won't let me. About ten years ago, I had left my checkbook at an ATM. Two days later, someone brought it to my address intact, receipts and all. If the universe is that nice to me, I gotta be nice back.

Even if it is inconvenient at times.

===

Good news on the Harry Potter front:

LOS ANGELES (AP) � Helena Bonham Carter has signed on to play fanatically evil Lord Voldemort devotee Bellatrix Lestrange in the next "Harry Potter" film.

The Oscar nominee joins incoming composer Nicholas Hooper, who will create the score for "Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix," the fifth film adaptation of author J.K. Rowling's epic series, according to a statement released Wednesday by Warner Bros.

Directed by Hooper's longtime collaborator David Yates, the movie also includes newcomers Imelda Staunton as frumpy Dolores Umbridge and Evanna Lynch as Luna "Loony" Lovegood.

Daniel Radcliffe, Rupert Grint and Emma Watson return as teen wizards Harry Potter, Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger.

"It's going to be a really cool cast," said Carter's publicist Jay Waterman.


Some might think HBC is too sexy to play Bellatrix, but I think it's a brilliant bit of casting. The entire movie series has had GREAT casting ideas - we all knew Alan Rickman was BORN to play Snape.

This will be good.

===

In about an hour, Brin and I head back up to Paso Robles for the great Houseguest Trade-Off.

As wonderful as it has been to see one of my best friends, it's always nice to NOT have to do anything in the mornings, NOT have to be willing to entertain, NOT have to go anywhere, etc.

On the way up, I listened to my entire Huey Lewis collection on CD (it's a LONG drive). This time, I'm considering either The Knack, Billy Joel, Little River Band, or Shoes.

Hell, maybe I should just put my entire CD rack in the back seat. Brin can always ride on the roof.

Nah.

===

By the way, the Angels lost yesterday. But it was a close game. Matter of fact, most of the games between the A's and the Angels have been decided by just one run.

Brin is from San Francisco, so she rooted for the A's. I'm an Angels fan.

This is the stuff that rivalries are made of.

===

Well, I gotta get ready to motorvate.

Be seeing you.



===

0 comments so far

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.