Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Changes

2006-08-11 - 10:28 a.m.

Well, the airlines have made it a bit easier to travel. As our own Bindyree reports, electronics are still allowed in carry-ons.

I understand her relief - would YOU trust luggage handlers with your laptop? And if you have your cell phone on you, it's easier to call those who are picking you up if there's a delay.

As for gels/liquids/etc. ... we're talking about shipping a CARE package of stuff she uses down here. I'll keep it safe, she can use them when she visits, and when she goes home I'll put them away again.

You know, I'm wondering if a doctor's note will help in some circumstances. If you absolutely HAVE to have water (say, if you're diabetic), you should be able to get a doctor's note that will let you carry a bottle of Aquafina. I've taken sealed bottles of water to an Angels game before. No trouble at all. Maybe that's all it would take: the bottles of whatever would have to be brand new, factory seal-intact, never-been-opened product. All that means is, you can't decant a small amount into your own bottle. Would that be such a burden? Especially if you don't fly that much?

Otherwise, I smell a possible lawsuit brewing. "I get terrible headaches when I fly. I must have my Advil. I'm going to sue the airline for...[Dr. Evil]...one hundred billion dollars!! [/Dr. Evil]"

Where's Monk when you need him?

===

Speaking of security:

From Neal Boortz' website comes the following report:

The Brits have identified 19 of the Islamic terrorists who had been plotting to blow up as many as ten airliners over the Atlantic ocean. Let's see now: What do we have here! Why ... and I hope you're sitting down here, because this is certainly very shocking --- every one of the 19 people who have been arrested thus far were men. They were all younger men, anywhere from 17 to 35 years old. Oh ... and every one of them had a Muslim name.

Many of these terrorists were British born. British citizens. Most of these are believed to be children of Pakistani immigrants. So, there's that European problem with Muslim immigration raising its ugly head again. Reports are that two of these bums were converts to Islam.

What else stands out here? Well, there were no 78-year-old blue-haired grannies on the list. There were no families traveling with children. There were no young mothers with children in tow.


I think he's got a point. This doesn't mean that all males 17-35 with a Muslim name are potential hijackers. But ALL of those identified in the 9/11 hijackings fit that profile. Doesn't that warrant at least a closer look?

Somewhere there's an article about the links of a whole bunch of terrorist incidents. I'll have to look for it.

UPDATE: Brin found it...naturally, because it was in her blog that I saw it in the first place. Here's the link.

Something to think about, huh?

===

I have another game day coming up. I hope to learn some new games, play a few old favorites...and a new one.

Be seeing you...if I haven't totally offended you with the above commentary.



===

2 comments so far

Bob - 2006-08-11 16:11:08 - http://shadowgm.diaryland.com
Boortz jumped the gun ... AP is now reporting that of the 24 suspects arrested, one is 'reportedly' a young woman with a child. The article also now mentions a peroxide-based solution - and the sports drink/mystery gel talk is gone.

===

Dave - 2006-08-12 05:37:05 - http://tooold2bcool.diaryland.com
Well, that item was posted before 9am. I'm sure that more info was released since Boortz' original post. As of the time of that post, 19 had been identified. I don't think it's "jumping the gun" to say how many had been identified up to that point...and, up to that point, all that HAD been identified fit the parameters given. And, of course, the rules re gels and such may have changed since the original post.

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.