Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


It's Looking Good

2006-08-30 - 11:14 a.m.

Not much to report today. Life is quiet. Cipro percolating through my bloodstream, keeping it all where it should be.

But there IS this:

NEW YORK (AP) � No, Katie Couric didn't suddenly lose 20 pounds. The incoming "CBS Evening News" anchor appears significantly thinner in a network promotional magazine photo thanks to digital airbrushing.

The touched-up photo of Couric dressed in a striped business suit appears on the inside of the September issue of Watch! which is distributed at CBS stations and on American Airlines flights.

CBS News President Sean McManus said he was "obviously surprised and disappointed when I heard about it."

The original picture was snapped in May and was widely circulated to the media as an official photo of Couric.

Couric, 49, said she hadn't known about the digitally reworked version until she saw the issue. The former NBC "Today" show host told the Daily News, "I liked the first picture better because there's more of me to love."

Gil Schwartz, executive vice president of communications for CBS Corp., said Wednesday in a phone interview the photo alteration was done by someone in the CBS photo department who "got a little zealous."

But he dismissed any notion of heads rolling over the matter.

"I talked to my photo department, we had a discussion about it," Schwartz said. "I think photo understands this is not something we'd do in the future."

He said the photo department "services tens of thousands of photographs every year" for all parts of the company and that it "does a fantastic job."

"The article that accompanies the picture is very responsible, very interesting," he added.


I think CBS is working way too hard to push Couric. She's done these "town-hall" type meet-and-greets...and then it was revealed that they were scripted. Now they have a retouched photo by a "zealous" employee...who won't be punished, it seems.

I don't particularly care, since I don't watch network news anyway. But it sure seems like CBS is trying to put a happy face on the news.

Whatever happened to anchors being actual reporters, instead of just talking heads?

===

One more week before all the schools have started.

And it looks like I'll top ninety hours this check.

I may be able to indulge a little, come mid-September.

So far...it's looking good.

===

Be seeing you.



===

3 comments so far

aliannmil - 2006-08-31 06:44:14 -
No insult intended. I was so thrilled to find another well thought out, entertaining diary that spoke with what appeared to be Brin's voice I thought it was her. I didn't think she was "in disguise" just a different flavor. It makes sense that it would be you (I should have clicked the yang on Brin's site but I am busy enough reading my current diaries I sort of avoid finding new ones). Please accept my apologies. I'm sure I will be enjoying your site as much as I do Brin's.

===

Brin - 2006-08-31 10:27:38 -
I can't presume to speak for Dave, but my best guess is that neither of us are insulted if we're mistaken for one another. Well, unless of course somebody has met us both in person. But even -that's- funny, because a lot of the time, people think we're brother and sister! We're going on twenty years of friendship, and you know what they say, the longer people are close, the more they resemble one another.

===

Dave - 2006-08-31 20:29:34 - http://tooold2bcool.diaryland.com
And, actually, I'm not the Yang to her Yin. That's a different friend of hers. Sorry. :)

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.