Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


All Over The World

2006-10-25 - 10:35 a.m.

Another one of those this-and-that pages today.

First, on the personal front: Brin is coming down for another visit, so I need to prep the apartment for guests. It'll be another meet-us-halfway transfer. This time, we're both going on the 5 and meeting at the junction of the 5 and the 46 at...you guessed it.

Time for another oil change.

===

Well, in Salt Lake City a fire broke out in a crematorium. Not so unusual, you might say - after all, fire is what a crematorium is all about, right?

Ah, but they were cremating a 600-pound man. Some of his bodily fluids caught when they weren't supposed to. It's likened to a "grease fire" in the article.

Wanna bet the anti-McDonald's crowd will play this up?

===

From the website TMZ.com comes this article about "green" celebrities who use a lot of gas.

Hey, I'm all for taking care of the environment. I do my part as much as I can, by recycling and walking whenever possible. And I try to keep my car in proper shape, so it uses gas efficiently instead of wasting it. But some of these folk in that "movement" talk the talk and don't walk the walk. I wonder how much energy Al Gore would save if he rode a bicycle everywhere instead of using his private jet.

It would make more of a statement.

===

The late great Lennie Weinrib is getting a memorial service in LA tomorrow. It's open to the public, and there's going to be some famous folk there. My aquaintence Mark Evanier is hosting. Here's Mark's entry in his blog about it.

Mark says that, instead of sticking Lennie's daughter with the tab, they will be taking up a collection to pay for room rent and food and sundries. I can't make it - I have other plans - but I sent some cash through PayPal.

I figured that would do more good than another card.

===

And now, a really old one:

A man wakes up with a huge hangover. He forces himself to open
his eyes, and the first thing he sees is a couple of aspirins and a glass of water on the side table. He sees his clothing in front of him, all cleaned and pressed. He looks around the
room and sees it is in perfect order. So's the rest of the house. He takes his aspirins and notices a note on the table:

Honey,
Breakfast is on the stove, I left early to go shopping.
I Love you.

He goes to the kitchen. Sure enough, a hot breakfast and the morning newspaper await him. His son is also at the table, eating. The man asks, "Son, what happened last night?"

His son says, "Well, you came home after 3 a.m., drunk and delirious. You broke some furniture, puked in the hallway, and gave yourself a black eye when you walked into the door."

Confused, the man asks, "So why is everything in order and so clean, with breakfast on the table waiting for me?"

His son replies, "Oh that! Mom dragged you to the bedroom, and when she tried to take your pants off you shouted,

"LADY, GET YOUR DAMNED HANDS OFF OF ME! I'M MARRIED!"

Heh heh.

===

Okay. I have housecleaning to do.

Be seeing you.



===

2 comments so far

LA - 2006-10-26 11:20:37 - http://la-the-sage.diaryland.com
Hi. Clicked through from your banner. I expect your claim is tongue-in-cheek, but do want to say 'cool' is a state of mind, not a functionality of age. ;-) ~LA

===

Dave - 2006-10-26 11:36:08 - http;//tooold2bcool.diaryland.com
Welcome welcome, and thanks for tuning in! The very first entry explains why I chose this name. It still holds true now. But then, this is what happens when you work with teenagers. :)

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.