Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Your Mother Should Know

2006-10-31 - 11:16 a.m.

Had a conversation with my mom last night. I brought her up to date on my medical situation, and we discussed holiday plans.

For quite awhile, she has bemoaned the fact that I don't take care of things...and she's right. I have a long history of procrastinating and putting off till the last minute. I'm working on that - as I mentioned in a previous entry, growing up sucks, but it's something I need to do.

At this moment in time, I am waiting for other people to do THEIR bit, so I can do MINE. But my pieces are in place on the gameboard, and I'm ready to make my moves.

===

John Kerry said the following to a group of college students: "You know, education...if you make the most of it...you study hard, you do your homework and you make an effort to be smart, you can do well...if you don't, you get stuck in Iraq." So therefore, if you're in the service, it's because you couldn't cut it in school.

You hear that, all you parents of servicemen and servicewomen? Kerry thinks your kids are STUPID!!

Gee, what about all those who entered the service to get money for college?? What about Colin Powell??

And this guy may try running for President again!!

===

The following rant comes from Neal Boortz' site today:

There's just one week to go until Election Day, and already the hysteria is mounting...over voting machines. After the 2000 debacle in Florida, governments across the country have bought these electronic voting machines. But the media and Democrats, always pushing the "disenfranchised" lie, are trying to portray them as hard to use and inaccurate. After all, how can normal people be expected to use a voting machine? What if they vote for the wrong person?

Think about that position for a minute. Just about every person walking our streets has used an ATM machine. We use computers at home....which are much more complicated than any voting machine. People use self-serve grocery check-out stations. They pay at the pump for their gas. The voting machines are not complicated. They are not hard to use. But that's not the real issue here anyway.

I want you to consider the possibility that the real issue that Democrats fear is that the machines just might be accurate. For decades, Democrats have been propelled into office by election fraud. That is, people voting twice...dead people voting...people being paid off and told who to vote for, etc. The electronic voting machine gets rid of a lot of that. Computers are absolute...they only do exactly what people tell them to do...not what some Democratic precinct chief wants.

And then there's the whole issue of the soft bigotry of low expectations. Shouldn't the people who Democrats say are too dumb to work the machines be offended? Of course not....not as long as those same Democrats keep the checks coming.


Now, I'm no fan of the Democrats. But I think this is a bit extreme. I don't know enough history to verify Boortz' claims about the election fraud.

I do, however, agree about the use of electronic items. And I've used the voting machines and they are easy to deal with. Now, if we go back to paper ballots, we're back to the possibility of bad punches, erasures, and such.

IMHO, there should be CLEAR instructions on HOW to cast your ballot at EVERY polling place, be it electronic or paper ballot. The whole Florida to-do in 2000 could have been avoided if a sign had been posted in every polling place saying that it is the VOTER'S RESPONSIBILITY to make sure their ballot is CORRECTLY punched, and indicated the voter's selections. All the "hanging chad" and "dimple" nonsense needn't have happened - those ballots would have been listed as "spoiled" and disallowed. Part of the responsibility of voting is making sure your selections are CLEAR. If you make a mistake, you can always go and ask for another ballot. I did exactly that one election - they SHREDDED my mistake and gave me a fresh one.

Why is that so difficult? Discuss amongst yourselves.

===

Now, my parents are Democrats, and we've had some interesting discussions. When my mom reads this, I'll bet we have more.

If you haven't lately, call your family. I bet they miss you.

Be seeing you.



===

0 comments so far

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.