Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


A Room Of Our Own

2006-11-28 - 11:31 a.m.

Something funny happened to me at work on Sunday, and it's just too good not to share.

We had a little Latino boy who had lost his father. It doesn't happen too often, but I can understand the fear - Camelot is an exciting place to a child, but it's also a BIG place, and sometimes kids get distracted and wander away. Then they look around at all these big tall people...and none of them are THEIRS.

This little guy, though, was very calm. No crying, no panic.

So I hoisted him up onto the counter so I could hear him. I asked if he knew his name.

"Uh huh."

Me: "Okay, good. What's you're name?"

Him: "Chuy." (pronounced like the Wookiee's nickname)

Me: "Good. Now, do you know your last name?"

Him: "Uh uh." (shake of head)

Now, this is not a major problem. I went to Plan B.

Me: "Okay...do you know your dad's name?"

Him: "Uh huh!"

Me: "Great! What's your dad's name?"

Him: "Papi."

Now I know how George Burns felt. Well, I can't say he's lying to me.

One of the other supervisors picked him up and walked him around the arcade, and found his parents. So it all worked out.

===

This morning, I was trying to reconfoogle the furniture in my room to allow for two end tables to be moved in. I moved the bed into a new configuration, did some measuring, and decided that there just wasn't going to be enough room.

Unfortunately, the bed blocked the cell phone, so I couldn't reach it when I got my good-morning ping from Brin. I had to climb over the bed - currently strewn with debris from the floor - and try not to hurt myself to reach the phone.

Memo to self - keep cell phone nearby at all times. Just be aware that, if you call me, you may hear a flush.

===

Well, winter is hitting here in So Cal. Evening temeratures have dropped into the 50's. It's a welcome change from the broiling summer we had. I've had to dig out my sweats from the bottom of the drawer, and my slippers are on my stockinged feet.

And I'm STILL cold. Time to bundle up.

===

Well, not much else happening here. Brin is coming down for another visit, so I have cleaning to do.

Be seeing you.



===

2 comments so far

Bob - 2006-11-28 14:36:41 - http://shadowgm.diaryland.com
Bah! Uphill both ways in the snow! It's been in the 30's the past few nights here in the North Bay. Right now, it's only 48 degrees.

===

Brin - 2006-11-28 20:26:35 -
Bob, you forgot to add 'naked, with snipped Achilles tendons.'

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.