Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Run Run Run

2007-01-04 - 11:06 a.m.

Didn't sleep too well last night. Oh, I was tired from work - since school is out, business is booming - but with this cold, my sinuses are clogging up at the worst time. I woke up at about 6am to find I had actually taken my CPAP mask off sometime during the night.

Here's the mask I use. There are two side clips that have to be popped off for the mask to be removed, unless you can tear Velcro. So I got up, blew my nose, put the mask back on, and went back to sleep.

Until the phone rang. It was a work-related call, asking about something I had ordered. That did it. I was up and awake and nothing I did helped from there.

I'll probably sack out early tonight and try to catch up. Shouldn't be too tough.

===

Today I get to brave the court system and file for the divorce to be made permanent. My soon-to-be-ex said she would file the papers the day that the six-month time ran out. That was a month ago, and I've received no notice.

It's entirely possible she did that, and it got lost in the mail. It won't hurt to go and find out, and file the papers if she didn't.

Then I have to get to the post office and pick up a couple things I got on eBay. More books, but good ones.

Also at some point I need to go to a Guitar Center and see about getting my crash cymbal stand repaired. It's as tight as I can get it, but the shaft rotates as I hit the cymbal. So suddenly, instead of the cymbal being angled at me, it's turned and is facing Bob...and he sits in FRONT of me.

And I need to fit lunch in there somewhere. Not in the cymbal stand, of course...unless I'm drinking Ensure (which may be pretty soon, at this rate).

So a full day, but I'm in no hurry.

===

Column in yesterday's paper by one of my favorite local reporters describes the new anti-"trunking" law. It seems that "trunking" - riding in someone's car trunk - is becoming popular again, and not just to sneak into the few remaining drive-ins. Remember that law that says teenagers can't drive if there are other teenagers in the car and no responsible adult? Simple - your buddy rides in the trunk and the cops are none the wiser.

Never mind that if the car is rear-ended you're pretty much going to be sent home in a shoebox. Remember, teenagers are invincible, and know far better than us old fogeys. We were never young, right? Besides, it'll never happen to THEM...except there are already documented accidents where this HAS happened.

I hate to harp on this, but again I think it comes to lack of respect for authority. And who is supposed to teach that respect? The parents, right? Except that some parents want to be their kids' buddies instead of role models.

Just something to think about. And shake your head over.

===

So onward.

Take care of yourselves, and each other. Ride in comfort, not in the trunk.

Be seeing you.



===

2 comments so far

Brin - 2007-01-04 14:15:41 -
Be careful today, and yes, get a nap.

===

Bob - 2007-01-05 05:31:57 - http://shadowgm.diaryland.com
I hate to say it, but these are the children of the 60's/70's darlings who decided authority was bad because of Vietnam ... problem is, they tossed out *everything*. End result? Children and grandchildren who have been raised on feel-good theories instead of being taught discipline, respect, and responsibility.

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.