Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Slippin' And Slidin'

2007-04-13 - 11:59 a.m.

Wow, what a day I had yesterday.

It was pretty quiet until I had dropped off Brin at the airport. We had kicked back, watched Kill Bill Vol.1, and she finished packing. The trip to the airport was uneventful, and she was more than on-time for her flight.

I then headed to the TV studio, where Bob was supposed to be taping the "performance" parts of episode #5. He's usually there until 9. I got there at 8:15, only to find they'd finished and left.

So I headed home and started on the mound of laundry. I watched History Of The World, Part I and a couple Monkees episodes.

Then it hit me. I was bored.

So I started moving furniture.

This wasn't a spur-of-the-moment thing. This was something I had been planning on doing for awhile now. It just kinda got into my head that I needed to do it. The fun part would be the bookcases. I had to take all the DVDs and books out, move the bookcases, and restore the contents. I got the DVD case moved, and I'm holding out on the books until I have that bookcase in the right place. I'm also going to take this opportunity to move some paperbacks into storage...or consider getting rid of them.

The fun part was the entertainment center. Firstly, the spot where it would go had one of the old two-prong outlets. After I fiddled with my breaker switches a bit, I got the power turned off and replaced it with a grounded three-pronger. It worked perfectly...and since that breaker controls ALL the outlets in ALL the rooms, I spent some time reprogramming everything.

Then came time to move the entertainment center. It looks like this, but with three tiers and one at the bottom. I have a bunch of vinyl albums on the bottom for support. I moved those out first. Then - with all the electronics, including a heavy TV on top - I managed to lift it out of the carpet (where it had settled in after being there for the better part of a year) and slide it over to its new position. I'd had it after that, and it was about 2am by that point. So I went to bed.

Now, I know what you're thinking. "You dummy, Brin was there - why didn't you do all this shit when you had HELP??" Simple. Even though I dusted as I went, enough kicked up that my own allergies are in high dudgeon this morning. On previous occasions, Brin has been paralyzed to inactivity by hers. I wasn't going to risk doing that and ruin her visit - especially her birthday visit.

This morning my neck is a little sore. But boy, I'm glad I got this done.

Part two of the Great Furniture Shift comes today: moving the armchair, putting the second bookshelf in its final (for now) location, and putting the books and albums back in place.

It's been WORK. But boy, I'm glad it's getting done.

===

Well, now. Since the global warming doomsayers predicted a record hurricane season in 2006 (which didn't happen), FEMA stockpiled food for the "inevitable" emergency. Since it didn't happen, FEMA had to throw away $40M worth of food. Tack this on to the $900 million on trailers that were never used. And the $1.8 billion spent on hotels and cruise ship rooms by the defrauders who used the "debit cards".

Maybe the global warming crowd should pay for it, since they made the claims.

Oh wait, that's right...it's all Bush's fault.

===

Sharpton, riding high on Don Imus' termination, said the following: "It is our feeling that this is only the beginning. We must have a broad discussion on what is permitted and not permitted in terms of the airwaves."

Who's going to decide? Him?

And who will be the targets? Anyone who disagrees with him, of course.

Seems like the "Reverend" has forgotten about "forgiving those who trespass against us"...unlike the Rutgers team.

Note this line:

The team's goal was never to get Imus fired, Stringer said. "It's sad for anyone to lose their job," she said.

The ones he maligned have forgiven him. IMHO, that makes them far more classy than "Reverend" Al Sharpton.

===

Well, I have more stuff-to-dos.

Tonight, for the last time, we take the stage without Bob. He plans to be back on the 20th.

And, before I forget, greetings to all those dealing with triskadekaphobia today...or worse, paraskavedekatriaphobia. I hope your day is a calm, peaceful one.

Be seeing you.



===

0 comments so far

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.