Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Tubthumping

2007-04-20 - 11:30 a.m.

Survived my trip to Verizon. Got my new phone. It's got picture capability and Bluetooth.

Best part - with the discount the price came to $50, which I get back with a rebate.

So ultimately all I'll pay for is the Bluetooth kit and the travel kit.

I'm happy.

===

Last night I flopped and kicked back, figuring out how to set up this phone.

Finally I quit and watched Revenge Of The Sith. I'd forgotten how powerful it was, and enjoyed it immensely.

Then, because I'm me, I watched this.

"Pissing the night away..."

===

I also got word from Brin -on my new phone, yet - that the Ducks beat the Minnesota Wild to advance.

Yee-ha!

===

Then, as is my wont, I read my online comics. I got a shock - one of my favorites, Pibgorn, was gone. Poof. Disappeared. All links dead.

I did a Google search, and the blurb under the link at comics.com was this:

Creator Brooke McEldowney has decided to discontinue his "Pibgorn" comic strip effective April 18th. Please feel free to check out Brooke�s other comic ...

I fired off a letter to Brooke McEldowney (who also does 9 Chickweed Lane - link at left), and got a very nice response this morning, saying Pib would continue.

Then I went on to my daily reads...

...and got the bad news.

===

In the PLEASE Tell Me You're Kidding Dept.:

Ever hear of Fred Phelps? He runs Westboro Baptist Church. These are the people who show up at military funerals...not to pay their respects to the fallen, but to hold up signs saying GOD HATES FAGS and saying that the deceased is going to hell. Well, he's taking his people to protest again...at the funeral for a student advisor named Ryan Clark, who was killed at Virginia Tech.

Here's a quote from the front page of the website for this group:

Why did this happen, you ask? It's simple. On April 16, 2007, this nation, through the offices of your military and conspirators therewith took a shot at the servants of God -- your marksman was limp and lame and he had terror all around, so he did a lousy job. But what you get for your trouble is that your God shot at you! The LORD your God sent a crazed madman to shoot at your children, and he didn't miss. Get this straight -- God sent this South Korean madman to kill 31 of your children at Virginia Tech. Was God asleep while this took place? Was He on vacation? Of course not. He willed this to happen to punish you for assailing His servants.

Got a strong stomach? Go here to find out more about this fool. Have a bucket ready - you may need it.

===

Then of course, there's this.

It'll come down to a lawyer's definition.

===

This morning, it's pouring rain.

I don't HAVE to venture out, but I'm in the mood for Chinese food. Unfortunately, the buffet I wanted to go to yesterday was closed from 4-8...and I was pretty sure my stomach couldn't wait.

Be seeing you.



===

2 comments so far

Smed - 2007-04-20 14:47:32 - http://smedindy.diaryland.com
Of course, Boortz was crass enough to blame the victims of the VT shooting as being passive, along with that nut-job Malkin. You can be a cowboy all you want, but from what I understood this guy was blasting away using pretty high powered and quick firing rounds, so there was no time to react, yet Boortz and others blamed the victims. Yeesh.

===

Dave - 2007-04-20 15:00:33 -
Smed, we'll never know what was going through the minds of those in the room, shooter and victim alike. You and I can play what-if for the rest of our lives. But sometimes fighting back to save someone else is the right thing to do - just remember United 93.

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.