Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Die Another Day

2007-05-31 - 10:16 a.m.

Well, after hopefully saving a life on Saturday, I almost took a human one yesterday.

Picture this, if you please:

I was on my way to work. I take a couple residential streets instead of the main thoroughfares, so I can skip waiting for traffic signals. I'm driving eastbound. On the sidewalks are several groups of kids coming home from school. They are walking towards me, so they are going westbound...but they are on the sidewalk. With me so far? Okay.

Now, picture this: there's an idiot girl - maybe 11 or 12, so she's old enough to know better - on a bike that's in the street. She's zigzagging back and forth in the street, presumably to talk to different groups of friends.

She's riding her bike in the street...against the flow of traffic.

Now granted, I'm about the only traffic on the street at this point. That only makes her next move even dumber. She's talking with a group on the sidewalk on my left (the northern side of the street). When my car is about twenty feet away, she suddenly veers over to go to her friends on the other curb.

She swerves right in front of me.

I slam on my brakes and stop about seven feet from her. I blast my horn. She gives me a look that plainly says, "What's your problem?" Her friends laugh.

Don't they get this? If I wasn't alert and watchful, she could have been badly hurt. We've all heard about accidents when someone was on the phone or somesuch. I'm guilty of using my phone when I drive, too. I do try not to be when I'm on my way to work, for the very reason that the kids are going home.

But that's not the most frightening part of all this.

What's really scary...

...is that this stupid, foolish little girl...

...may someday...

...BREED.

===

Parents: teach your children that accidents happen. Both sides need to watch what they're doing, and sometimes the other side doesn't.

A couple tons of automobile will not bounce off twenty pounds of bicycle.

Two hundred horsepower is no match for one bicycle power.

Please. Teach them this.

And please be careful when YOU drive.

Be seeing you.



===

1 comments so far

Brin - 2007-05-31 20:59:47 -
Dave, having been in the car with you a lot, I will tell you here in front of everybody that you're one of the safest drivers I've ever had the privelege to ride with.

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.