Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Smokin'

2007-06-22 - 12:35 p.m.

Last night, Brin sat me down and showed me one of her favorite films. So I showed her one of mine.

Yeah, we live an exciting life on my day off.

===

Okay, gang - correction time.

In this space yesterday, I reported about an article on Boortz' site about a change in the statute of limitations for sex abuse cases. Today, Boortz is running a correction and, in the interest of fairness, I'm reporting it here:

I got something wrong yesterday. Oh, I had help, to be sure, but I got it wrong. The story about the expanded statute of limitations for lawsuits over incidents of child abuse in Delaware was not exactly as I presented it. Yesterday I said that the teacher's unions stood in the way of expanding that statute from two to twenty-five years for employees of government schools. That is not exactly how it happened.

It's true, there is a bill in Delaware to expand the statute of limitations for civil actions relating to child sexual abuse. What is also true is that the Delaware government and all government employees, as is the case with most other states, are generally immune from such lawsuits in the first place because of the concept of sovereign immunity. I was also right in telling you that the highest incidents of child sexual abuse in the country happen at the hands of government school employees.

Now ... here is what has really happened. When the bill expanding the statute of limitations was introduced, an amendment was offered by Republican Representative Greg Lavelle that would expand the liability for these lawsuits to the State of Delaware and its employees. That would include the employees of the government schools. That amendment was defeated ... defeated by Democrats. Representative Lavelle is going to offer that amendment again as a separate bill.

We had several discussions with Representative Lavelle's office yesterday afternoon, and he asks some interesting questions. If the legislators in Delaware are saying that the victims of child abuse in Delaware should have 25 years now (instead of two years) to file lawsuits for damages, why should private school teachers be subject to these lawsuits when government school teachers are not?

So .. here's what I got wrong yesterday.

1. I made it sound as if government school teachers in Delaware were actually subject to those lawsuits now but with a two-year statute of limitation. I was wrong. They're immune from civil even now.

2. I also made it sound as if only government school teachers were affected by this exemption. Actually, it's all government employees, not just the teachers. The reason teachers are being focused on here is because most other Delaware government employees don't have daily close contact with children, and there is no real record of any significant number of incidents of sexual abuse of children by government employees ... other, that is, than government school employees.

3. Representative Lavelle's office won't exactly admit that there was any teacher's union pressures brought to bear here.

So .. the essence of my story was correct, but the details need a little straightening out here. I tell you not to believe everything I say on the air unless it is consistent with what you already know to be true, or you've taken the time to check things out for yourself. I just want you to know that we go to some lengths here to get the true scoop on these stories .... even after we cover them on the air. If a correction or clarification is needed, you'll certainly get one.

So, there you go. Personally, I agree with Lavelle - it should be all school teachers, not just private school ones.

===

So. Down in San Diego, police chase an SUV. It heads straight for the border and...well, go read.

And remember, it's our laws that cause this shit to happen.

Oh, and it's all Bush's fault. Well, actually, in this case it is - if he'd get the damn borders secured already...

===

You also might want to take a listen to this.

If you can't beat it on its own playing field, outlaw it.

===

Okay. Enough political ranting.

Be seeing you.



===

0 comments so far

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.