Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Suicide Is Painless

2007-07-20 - 1:11 p.m.

Yesterday I got something I'd wanted to get since last year: the entire series of MASH on DVD.

"MASH - The Martinis And Medicine Collection" went on sale last November or so for about $200 - which is a bargain, compared to the $30-40 per season price. It had all 11 seasons of the show and - as added bonuses - two DVDs of extras AND the original theatrical release, all in one package.

By the time I went to order it - after Christmas - it wasn't available anymore. I could have gotten it on eBay, if I wanted to pay over $400. Or I could get it (without the extra discs) for less than $50 from shippers in China...and those sets were most likely bootlegs.

So I had pretty much resigned myself to buying the seasons. But last week I saw an ad that Amazon had the full set for less than $150. I hadn't bought any extra fun stuff in awhile, so I grabbed.

Yesterday I picked it up from the PO. It's huge - about the size of the hardback edition of The Dark Tower. Inside are four folders that hold 9 DVDs each, a small book with summaries of all the episodes, and a nifty little clipboard with the MASH logo.

But the sleeve are all paper pockets - the discs aren't secured from movement.

You guessed it - some of the discs managed to get loose during shipping. There are superficial scratches on the season 11 discs and the bonus discs.

So I spent the better part of the afternoon and evening watching the discs, looking for skips. I made it through all the episodes of season 11 - including the finale - and about half of the first bonus disc. So far, so good - everything plays well.

Today I'll finish the bonus discs, and maybe Sunday I'll watch the movie.

I really don't want to go through the hassle of returning it. I will if I must, but I'd rather not.

===

Tomorrow - well, technically tonight at midnight - Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows will be officially released. Yes, I'll get it...most likely on Sunday, after work. I'm not the kind of guy who does midnight sales or midnight movie premieres. I'll wait till a decent hour.

But this guy got his copy last Tuesday, four days before release.

What did he do? Did he post spoilers? No. He put it up on eBay, and you'll be surprised at who bought it.

===

Well, somebody finally said it - planning to withdraw from Iraq boosts enemy propaganda. And it was said to...well, go read.

The bad news (IMHO): in a CBS/NYT poll, 63% said this person is likely to win the presidency.

Of course, "likely to win" doesn't equal "I'd vote for this person". But then, that wasn't the question.

===

As I mentioned yesterday, I have jury duty starting Monday.

My posting schedule is going to be screwed up a little. It may be only one day, it may be a week.

I will return. You have been warned.

===

So.

More MASH extras, and some laundry. And then the band gig.

A (mostly) typical Friday here at Chez Too Old.

Be seeing you.



===

1 comments so far

Smed - 2007-07-20 16:28:01 - http://smedindy.diaryland.com
Actually, the GOP better hopes Clinton does get the nomination, because she is the most conservative Democrat out there, and the most likely to build bridges.

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.