Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Brothers And Sisters

2007-08-06 - 1:03 p.m.

I took Saturday off and went down to Oceanside for the day. The reason? A family reunion.

The side was my paternal. My biological dad even flew out from Pennsylvania. And both sides of HIS family showed - aunts, uncles, cousins. Dozens of them. There must have been about 100 people there.

My sister and her daughter (my niece) flew down from Sacramento for the day. I hadn't seen them for the better part of two years, same as my dad. The immediate family - my brother John's family (his wife and son [my nephew], and his son's girlfriend), my sister Natalie and niece Elena, and a couple cousins that John knew but I had never met - tended to hang together and catch up. I tried to circulate - I got to visit with my dad's sisters (Essie and Joy), and Thaddeus (a cousin, I think) and so many more that I just can't remember.

And the food was plentiful. We were told it was BYOF and BYOB. I had grabbed an early lunch before heading onto the freeway, simply because 1) I felt a little silly bringing food for only me, and 2) I didn't want to mooch off of everyone else. I needn't have worried about the mooching - EVERYBODY kept telling me "there's food over here" and "there's tri-tip on the barbecue, have some" and "there's tortillas, make yourself a taco". I did NOT make a pig of myself, although I certainly could have. I waited until about 1 1/2 hours after I got there, and even then I didn't eat much. I stuck with my water bottle.

At about 4, the group mentioned above (along with my dad and his sisters and a couple more folks) all headed to my cousin Suzanne's house to continue the party. Daquiris made with fresh peaches flowed (along with non-alcoholic versions for me and a couple others), and more food appeared. Again, I partook but didn't overdo it. I learned that Bob and Suzanne host family get-togethers a couple times a year, and the only reason I didn't know was that they didn't have my e-mail. They took it down and promised to let me know when the next one was. Last time, my nephew brought a bunch of his friends and their musical instruments and had a huge jam session. I was invited to bring my drum kit down for the next one, whenever it happens. I just may do that.

At 7pm, an extra TV was brought out and the Padres-Giants game came on (Bob and Suzanne are big Padres fans). I got to see Barry Bonds tie Henry Aaron's home run record.

As the game continued, folks started to drift out. I decided to stay until Bonds' last at-bat, just to see if he'd actually break the record. Bonds finished in the 8th, and Bob and Suzanne invited me to stay until the end. I said I would - I mean, it was the top of the 8th, so I wouldn't be there much longer.

In the bottom of the 12th, the Padres broke a 2-2 tie to end it. My uncle Gene and I were the last ones there, and we both headed out. I finally made it home at about 12:15am and collapsed shortly after that.

It was a good time. Hopefully I'll get to go to a few more.

===

I spent Sunday at work, and at home recovering.

Today, back to my usual schedule.

Be seeing you.



===

1 comments so far

Brin - 2007-08-06 16:08:09 -
Family reunions are fascinating things; having been to one of my own in the not too distant past. We all go there as separate people, but somehow become a part of a bigger thing before it's time to go home again. Glad you had a good time!

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.