Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Pick Up The Pieces

2007-10-16 - 11:56 a.m.

Last week I mentioned that I was going to ship out the joysticks for my beloved KLAX game for rebuilding - they were around sixteen years old and overdue.

I mailed them on Tuesday. On Thursday, I got an e-mail telling me they were done and on their way back! On SATURDAY, they were at the PO! How's that for fast service??

I couldn't get to the PO on Saturday - that pesky work thing - so I got them yesterday. Last night I finshed detailing the control panel (taking out the buttons and scrubbing all the gunk off) and I re-installed the joysticks.

It's great. The game plays like new, which is what I'd hoped for. The melted rings have been replaced with a hard rubber ring that I can easily replace if I need to. The repair guy even threw in some replacement switches to replace my gunked-up ones.

I can't recommend this service enough. Here's their site. Check them out if you need something.

===

One of my favorite writers, Thomas Sowell, believes Nancy Pelosi's efforts to pass a resolution condemning the massacre of Armanians is part of a larger effort to sabotage the war in Iraq. And Sowell isn't the only one. The Wall Street Journal editorial board weighs in here.

Is the Democrats' hatred of President Bush so intense that they'd put revenge before policy?

===

Speaking of the war, Ret. Army General Ricardo Sanchez made a speech on Friday. He was very selectively quoted - the entire text is here. Note this quote:

"The unmistakable message was that political power had greater priority than our national security objectives."

He also had harsh words for some of today's media. Definately worth a look.

===

While I was at the post office yesterday I saw an item on the news ticker - oil has topped $85/barrel, a record high. The micro-story said it was based on concerns that there may not be enough heating oil for the winter.

But that has nothing to do with high gas prices. Remember, cost of resources and supply-and-demand have nothing to do with it. It's all controlled by President Bush.

===

Here's a look at one of the nominees for this year's Nobel Peace Prize.

You know...the one that went to His Goreness.

===

Well, I still have some things to take care of for Brin's visit. The living room still needs work.

Now I just have to find my shovel...

Be seeing you.



===

0 comments so far

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.