Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Nice, Nice, Very Nice

2007-11-01 - 11:27 a.m.

Yesterday, I took another dust bath.

Way back here I talked about how we got two new Maximum Tune 3 games. Well, ever since we got them we've had customers asking/begging/pleading for us to get two more, so that there can be four-way races. Their prayers were answered - we ordered conversion kits so we could make our two MT2 units into MT3 units. Those kits arrived yesterday, and I got to install them.

This was another one of those more-complicated-than-you-can-imagine things. Whole wiring harnesses had to be replaced, the power supply had to be re-located so the new game computer could even FIT, etc. And the conversion installation instructions consisted of five color-photocopied pages with not-too-clear instructions. Oh, the humanity!

It took five hours to convert both games and figure out how to link all four together. But it's done, and they work.

When our MT3 players come in this weekend, they are gonna flip.

===

As I was coming home, I passed some of our teenage neighbors hanging out in the alley with an open 12-pack of Budweiser.

They watched me as I went past. I nodded in greeting to one of them...and he nodded back, polite as you please.

It's weird, but I have a rapport with some folks. Way back when I was living in Brea, our apartment shared a wall with an apartment rented by a group of seven 20-somethings. A very mixed batch they were: male and female, black and white, and probably gay and straight. Anyway, they liked to party at night...and I mean PAR-TAY. Friends would come over, the music would be loud, booze of many kinds would flow...you name it.

If it got to be too much, I'd go over and knock and ask nicely if they'd turn it down because I was trying to sleep/watching a movie/whatever. The person at the door would apologize and they'd turn it down...just like good neighbors should, right?

When they did a midnight move-out, they left the place in a bad state: gaping holes in the wall, a couch with beer stains (I sure HOPE it was beer), and so on. I later heard from the landlord that all those people gave the other tenants a hard time...except me.

Could it be that it was because I'd look into their (sometimes) open door when I came home and said hello? Or because I nodded to them in passing on the walkways and said hey-how-ya-doin'?

Was that really all it took? Just...being nice?

===

Speaking of being nice...

I can sympathize with this waitress. I've seen some of the things she's griping about.

===

Oil prices are nearing $100/barrel. But remember, that has nothing to do with the spiking of gas prices.

Can we PLEASE drill in ANWR?

===

Here's something from the University of Delaware. I present, for your edification, their "definition" (emphasis mine):

A Racist: A racist is one who is both privileged and socialized on the basis of race by a white supremacist (racist) system. The term applies to all white people (i.e. people of European descent) living in the United States regardless of class, gender, religion, culture or sexuality. By this definition, people of color cannot be racists, because as peoples within the U.S. system they do not have the power to back up their prejudices, hostilities or acts of discrimination.

So if you are white, congratulations - you are ALREADY A RACIST!

This is what some folks' educational dollar pays for. Nice, huh?

===

Today, Brin finishes packing and will be taking a flight back to San Francisco.

Before then, she's going to give me a haircut. Then we'll have some lunch and watch a movie...and just hang out.

A nice way to end her visit.

Shower's free.

Be seeing you.



===

1 comments so far

artgnome - 2007-11-01 13:42:13 - http://artgnome.diaryland.com
wow. so how do I define the "african american" cashier that refuses to talk to me during my checkout on the basis of her not liking that I'm white? sainthood? geez.

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.