Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


No No Song

2007-11-07 - 12:45 p.m.

Okay, here's the info on the brother/sister team that I mentioned yesterday: they're cats.

I'd been interested in getting another cat for awhile now. I was planning to wait until around Christmas time. But I saw an ad for two five-month-old black domestic shorthairs in the paper - a brother/sister couple named Mork & Mindy. There were too many serendipities for me to let them go: they both looked just like my beloved Midnite, who died five years ago; they were in perfect health; and, of course, the names - a perfect fit for silly old me...or so I thought.

So yesterday morning, I called the lady who ran the shelter where the kittens were housed. I got an appointment to go see them. I drove down and stayed for an hour, visiting with M&M and talking with Anjte. She liked what she heard from me, and liked what she saw on the application form - she agreed to come take a look at my apartment to see if the environment was right for them.

I spent a good part of the night thinking about what I had to do to get the place cat-ready. Then, around 7:30, I got a call from Anjte - the kittens had been placed with a family that was a better fit than me, a single guy in an apartment.

It hurt, but I understood - it's what's best for them. And she asked me to keep her shelter in mind when I wanted to try again...so it's not like she said "lose my number, you don't derserve a pet".

I'd still like to do the yellow male/brown female thing, and call them The Doctor and his companion Peri.

===

A couple days ago, I printed the "definition" of racism that the University of Delaware that basically says that, if you're white you're automatically a racist. Walter Williams comments on that - and a couple other "definitions" - here.

This is what the fees at this school are going to.

===

From the Damn, You're Stupid Dept.:

A man in South Texas called police to report that two armed men had broken into his house...and had stolen 150 pounds of marijuana that he "had been wrapping for shipment".

Oh, and the guy's an illegal immigrant.

===

Remember the papers from the Clinton Presidential Library that are being suppressed till 2009? The ones that had to do with Hillary's role as First Lady?

Well, it seems another set of papers about her are not going to be released until 2009...as in, until after the election.

The papers were written by Diane Blair for a book that was never written. Blair died in 2000. Only two copies were made - one went to the Clintons, and one went to the University Of Arkansas Library after Blair's death.

Supposedly, according to the article, the reports are "not yet processed"...despite an annual report from 2005-06 that said they were "nearing completion". The archivist was described in a 2006 university newsletter as having "previously processed the papers of the late Diane Blair."

Maybe nothing's wrong. But considering the Clinton Library's suppression of Hillary's past, it sure looks like something's going on.

===

Time to get on with my day.

Be seeing you.

===



===

2 comments so far

requiel - 2007-11-07 18:44:23 - http://requiel.diaryland.com
Aw, sorry about the kitties. You soooo deserve a pet! heh, that guy was so stupid.

===

artgnome - 2007-11-07 20:17:06 - http://artgnome.diaryland.com
I hope you find the perfect new furry family members soon!

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.