Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Instant Karma!

2007-11-14 - 10:46 a.m.

Well, my Fast Food Karma swung the other way yesterday...with a vengeance.

The manager at KFC was stunned when I told the story. He agreed with me completely - if they were closed, the lights should have been off, especially the DRIVE-THRU OPEN sign. He gave me a coupon good for a free meal and promised to talk to the employees from the previous night. (Side note: I've had a few problems at this particular KFC, usually with minor order errors [once I ordered "mashed potatoes with NO gravy" and got "mashed potatoes with EXTRA gravy"]. I continue to patronize them because they are FAST at the drive-thru and they fix problems ASAP).

The manager at Carl's Jr. was apologetic, but basically told me it was a one-off closure - the soda machine in the dining area had died, and the whole system had to be turned off because of the CO2 pressure in the system. She did say the employee who told me I could get cash through the drive-thru with my ATM card would be re-trained, and gave me a card for a free drink.

Then I went to Fry's...and here's where the karma REALLY made it up to me. I had to return a damaged DVD; I had purchased it on Sunday and it was scratched. Now, anyone who has been to this Fry's knows that the return line is a nightmare. It usually has at leat seven customers in it at all times, and the wait time is approximately that of Nemo's Submarine Ride in summer. I thought I'd give it a shot, even though I only had about 15 minutes before I had to be at work.

Wonder of wonders, there was no one in line and about five employees eager to help me. I explained, they examined the disc, and asked if I could fetch a replacement. I knew exactly where they were, so I ran into the store and grabbed one. While I was doing that, the CS guy filled out all the stuff he needed to, so when I came back two minutes later all I had to do was sign for the exchange. I was out of there in about five minutes.

I've been told that the universe takes care of me. I think I just got proof.

===

Oh look - a dumbshit. Somebody wasn't wearing his sign.

===

Even child stars get sued.

===

From the You Gotta Be Kidding Dept.:

It's amazing what you find when you're surfing. There was a well-known and well-loved set of nine vocal performances set to a very well-remembered bit of music, all recorded in the late 1960s. There were versions done in English and Spanish. The Spanish ones were done by Charo, and the English ones were done by...Grace Slick.

Here is the last of the set. The other eight are grouped into four sets here, here, here, and here.

These bits were retired in the early 90s. Thank God for YouTube.

===

Well, there's things to do before work, so I'm outta here.

Be seeing you.



===

0 comments so far

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.