Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Stand

2007-11-28 - 12:38 p.m.

Well, I survived my trip to Verizon.

I explained the issue I was having, and they determined that my battery was nearing the end of its life. They also found that my phone was running on an older, less-efficient software version.

It would take about an hour to upgrade everything, so I headed over to New World for some lunch. Then I discovered that New World has closed, apparently forever. The restaurant was being gutted and refitted into a new Chinese restaurant.

This was one of Brin's and my favorite places to eat (one of our adventures in dining there is told here). We'll miss it.

===

It also looks like my computer picked up a virus. It's opening web pages that I have no interest in.

So I picked up some security software and started dealing with it. It looks like most of the problems are gone.

Here's hoping.

UPDATE: Norton 360 found some adware and has dealt with it. Sic 'em!

===

Remember the teacher I talked about yesterday? The British teacher in the Sudan who was arrested over a teddy bear nammed Mohammed? The one who may get 40 lashes and six months in jail? One of her students is standing up for her. This young man is seven years old:

"The teacher asked me what I wanted to call the teddy," the boy said shyly, his voice barely rising above a whisper. "I said Mohammad. I named it after my name," he added.

[...]

He said he was not thinking of Islam's Prophet when asked to suggest a name, adding most of the class agreed with his choice.

According to the article, the preliminary charges are "insulting religion and provoking the feelings of Muslims". So if you insult religion or Muslims, it's illegal.

This is what the radical Islamists want for us.

===

John Edwards has weighed in on universal health care and, as usual, it's not good:

"I'm mandating healthcare for every man woman and child in America and that's the only way to have real universal healthcare."

"Evertime you go into contact with the healthcare system or the govenment you will be signed up."

Does that include every time you pay taxes? Deal with the DMV? It sure looks like it.

Here's the money quote:

When asked by a reporter if an individual decided they didn't want healthcare Edwards quickly responded, "You don't get that choice."

Got that? You MUST have it. No argument - after all, government knows best.

One of the reasons why healthcare is so expensive is those government mandates. I have to pay for coverage that I WILL NEVER USE, EVER. I have no choice. My plan MUST cover me, by law. So I have to pay for it.

I'd really like to delete some of these coverages that I'll NEVER EVER need...because I just don't think I'm ever going to get ovarian cancer.

===

And now, onto the day.

Be seeing you.



===

3 comments so far

Bob - 2007-11-29 08:29:20 - http://shadowgm.diaryland.com
And how is radical Islam different from that bellowing buffoon from the Catholic League, Bill Donohue, warning us all about the evils of 'The Golden Compass' because Phillip Pullman (the author) is an Atheist? Religious extremism doesn't just come in Islamic flavors.

===

Dave - 2007-11-29 11:28:01 -
You're absolutely right, Bob. But Donahue and Westboro Baptist scumbag Fred Phelps spout off and don't have high religious leaders enforcing their extremist views with whips, beatings, and beheadings. There aren't Christian extremists killing people who write articles against Christianity or draw cartoons they find offensive.

Yes, a great deal of blood has been shed in the name of the Bible, but not in the last hundred years or so, and not in the spectacular way that murder has been done in the name of Islam.

BTW, the guitar player and the bass player in my band are really serious Christians - and they both think Phelps is evil.

===

Brin - 2007-11-29 11:33:09 -
Anybody who talks to invisible friends for guidance needs to be approached with caution. :-)

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.