Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Capital Gain

2008-01-17 - 1:00 p.m.

Yesterday I had a mild panic attack. I had received my W-2 form from work...and it disappeared. After some searching, I found it in my car.

So today, in addition to laundry, I'm going to be going through my receipts and see what can be deducted and what can't.

Oh joy.

===

Speaking of laundry...

Today marks the death of an old friend - my laundry soap bottle.

For several years, I've been using a Tide bottle when I do laundry - the kind with the measuring cap. When it ran low, I'd buy the really big Tide bottle - the one with the spigot - and refill the smaller one. It was much easier to carry the smaller bottle than to lug the big monster bottle, and more economical.

Well, when I went to the store to buy the monster bottle, I discovered that all the soap bottles have gone to a new formula that uses a smaller measuring cap, one about half the size of my old one. So I bit the bullet and bought the new formula. Well, today I will be using the last of the old soap and recycling the old bottle the next time I go to the center.

I'm sure some of you have had to update from something you've used for years.

===

Speaking of things you've used for years...

A fellow named Richard Knerr passed away at the age of 82.

Mr. Knerr was a co-founder of a little bitty company called Wham-O. They sold the Hula Hoop, the Superball, Silly String, and the Frisbee...you may have heard of them.

===

A group of lawmakers from Sonora, Mexico, went to Tuscon, AZ, to complain about Arizona's new law that provides serious sanctions against businesses that hire illegal aliens:

TUCSON- A delegation of nine state legislators from Sonora traveled to Tucson to make the case against Arizona's new employer sanctions law,

The lawmakers say it will have a devastating affect on the Mexican state.

At a news conference Tuesday, they said Sonora cannot handle the demand for housing, jobs and schools it will face as illegal Mexican workers in Arizona return to their hometowns without jobs or money.

The law, which took effect Jan.1, punishes employers who knowingly hire individuals who don't have valid legal documents to work in the United States.

Businesses found violating the law face suspension or loss of a business license.

The lawmakers were to travel to Phoenix Wednesday for a breakfast meeting with Hispanic legislators.

They're expected to tell them how the law will affect Mexican families on both sides of the border.

"How can they pass a law like this?" asked Mexican Rep. Leticia Amparano Gamez, who represents Nogales. "There is not one person living in Sonora who does not have a friend or relative working in Arizona," Amparano said in Spanish.

Amparano said the Sonoran legislators are already asking the federal government of Mexico for help.

Rep. Florencio Diaz Armenta, coordinator of the delegation, represents the agricultural rich San Luis, Rio Colorado, area south of Yuma which employs some 28,000 legal Mexican workers.

"What do we do with the repatriated?" he asked. "As Mexicans, we are worried. They are Mexicans but they are also people's fathers and mothers and young people with jobs who won't have work in Sonora."

Diaz said the Arizona law will lead to the disintegration of the family, as one legal Mexican parent remains in Arizona and the other returns to Mexico.

Boo-frickin'-hoo. They want to come into the US illegally to work, but take none of the consequences of their breaking the law. Remember, if you're in Mexico illegally, YOU HAVE NO RIGHTS. You can't even get a driver's license. Do US lawmakers bitch about that, when Mexico enforces THEIR laws?

The representative also points out that this Arizona law is going to lead to the disintegration of the family. How does that happen if the father comes home? How does that lead to the destruction of his family?

===

According to this article, a group of Polish scientists have said that the "perfect legs" are slightly "longer than average, and attached to Kylie Minogue".

And this is a surprise...how?

===

From Fark.com and the Over-react Much Dept.:

You run a stop sign and don't want to get caught. Do you:
A) kill your headlights and take off
B) punch the cop
C) try to strangle a police dog
D) all of the above

===

Well, I have things to deal with today.

Be seeing you.



===

2 comments so far

Acorn - 2008-01-17 20:38:26 - http://acornotravez.diaryland.com
Your link to Fark.com doesn't work

===

Dave - 2008-01-17 22:13:51 -
I messed up the HTML. All fixed now! Sorry!

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.