Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


American Pie

2008-02-06 - 10:45 a.m.

Well, I have discovered that my new polling place is within walking distance from my apartment. That means in November, I can walk there.

Hillary took California, as did McCain. I'm not thrilled with any of the candidates, actually. I'm listed as No Preference, so my choices were limited to a group of fringe candidates. The only two names I recognized were Ralph Nader and Cynthia McKinney (the Rep who slapped a security guard because she wasn't wearing her ID pin and he wouldn't let her in the building). No thanks.

But nothing is a lock for anyone - Huckabee and Romney picked up support, as did Obama. So it's still too close to call.

Ten more months of this. Oh joy.

===

It's been determined by the New York Medical Examiner that Heath Ledger died of an accidental overdose of prescription drugs. The list included "oxycodone, hydrocodone, diazepam, temazepam, alprazolam, and doxylamine".

Good grief. I'm surprised he didn't rattle when he walked.

This will rank as another what-could-have-been. Almost fifty years ago, a plane carrying Buddy Holly, Richie Valens, and The Big Bopper crashed (I was born seven years later). John Lennon was 40. Jim Henson was only 53, as was John Denver. There are countless others, all taken long before their time.

Really makes you wonder what these folks could have created had they lived on.

===

Speaking of dying too young, this almost happened here. I guess this fool has her priorities straight:

ST. AUGUSTINE, Fla. -- A St. Augustine woman pulled over when a deputy saw her run a red light had a case of beer belted in her front seat, but a young child unrestrained in the back, according to the arrest report.

The deputy who pulled over Tina Williams Sunday reported smelling a strong odor of alcohol coming from the car. When he asked Williams for a driver's license, she replied, "I never had one," Jacksonville television station WJXT reported.

According to the police report, a 24-pack of beer in the front passenger seat of her car was restrained by a seat belt but a 16-month-old girl was not in a child seat or safety belt. A 19-year-old woman was also in the back seat.

Police said Williams had bloodshot and watery eyes and staggered when she got out of the vehicle. Asked if she'd been drinking, she told the deputy, "I had a few."

Williams failed a field sobriety test but refused to take a Breathalyzer.

After Williams was taken into custody, two metal pipes were found in her purse.

Williams was charged with DUI, child endangerment, driving without a license, running a red light and failure to use a child restraint. The suspected drug paraphernalia was placed into evidence.

Drunk, no license, a 16-month-old unrestrained in the back seat. Look out, Lynne Spears - you've got competition for the Mother Of The Year Award.

===

Today's title links to the crash and the vote. Let's face it, voting is one of the things that makes America great - and everyone has a chance to get a piece of the pie...after taxes, of course.

Time to get on with the day.

Be seeing you.



===

1 comments so far

requiel - 2008-02-06 18:51:03 - http://requiel.diaryland.com
Hey! Happy late birthday! Four kids have sucked my brain dry.

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.