Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Shout It Out Loud

2008-02-11 - 11:46 a.m.

This weekend I managed to get a DVD burner installed in my computer. The big problem was getting it to read the material - it would recognize the disc (CD, DVD, or PC-ROM) but not play the content.

Turns out I needed a new cable to connect it to my motherboard. Now it works perfectly.

So now I can watch DVDs in the comfort of my computer chair. Yay me!

===

Roy Scheider, who amongst other things played the police chief in "Jaws" and Bob Fosse in "All That Jazz", died yesterday at 75.

No comments about him sleeping with the fishes.

===

Today's title link:

Yesterday was a day of mass protests at several Scientology centers by the group Anonymous. There was one in Los Angeles and a HUGE one in London.

Supposedly another is scheduled for March 15. Bring the popcorn.

===

In political news, Obama swept Hillary, and she cried again. It looks like she's in real trouble and she may not get the coronation...er, nomination.

Oh, and Nobel Prize winning author Doris Lessing says that, if Barack Obama were elected, he would be assassinated. She declined to say who would do it.

Nothing like a nice generic threat. I'll be glad when this is over.

===

Speaking of threats, British atheletes who want to compete in this year's Olympics in Beijing had a line inserted into their contract that basically keeps them from commenting on China's human rights offenses - if they do, China won't let them into the country.

You can't make this stuff up.

===

The Iranian Parliament may use their "apostasy" law to put to death anyone who leaves Islam.

So once you're in, you're in for life...kinda like Scientology. But the Scientologists don't kill you.

Oh, wait...

===

Speaking of Muslims...

In Canada, many Muslim men have found a new benefit for having multiple wives (other than the obvious example) - they can get welfare benefits for each wife. The government says that the wives "could apply as single people [for welfare] and we just wouldn't know"

Gee, there are numerous cases here of dogs getting credit cards through the mail. I wonder how many of those wives are human...and how many are livestock. Not saying they're having sex with their livestock, mind you...just using the livestock's "name" to get more benefits.

Monetary or otherwise.

===

Well, it's President's Day, so we'll be busy at work. I better get going.

Be seeing you.



===

0 comments so far

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.