Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin)

2008-04-11 - 11:29 a.m.

So yesterday we finally made it to the Park. On my recommendation, we were going to watch the fireworks from Ariel's Grotto, which is just south of the Matterhorn. So rather than slog our way through the sea of people we decided to take the train, get off at Tomorrowland, and walk from there.

The train stopped at New Orleans Square - on the complete opposite side from Tomorrowland - and everyone had to disembark because residue from the fireworks show falls into Fantasyland and the train might get shut down. So here we are, even further away than when we started. Oops.

We walked back, grabbed a pretzel, and made it to the Grotto just in time for the fireworks. Brin oohed and ahhed as she enjoyed the show from a perspective that she doesn't usually get.

We got a chimichanga for me and headed to Buzz. As we walked, we noticed a maintenance guy cleaning up a puddle of vomit on Main Street, trying to get it all before people walked through it (I've had to do that, too - I actually put trash cans AROUND the puddle and the kids STILL ran between them and stepped in it). After he was done, I walked up and thanked him for doing such a good job. I told him that his work may not be noticed but it was definitely appreciated. His face lit up, and he thanked me for saying that.

I meant what I said. Some folks have the really dirty jobs - nasty, disgusting jobs. But without them, the world would be a lot messier.

If you get a chance, make their day. Say thank you.

===

Air America host Randi Rhodes has been fired resigned following controversial remarks she made about Hillary and Geraldine Ferraro. In a "stand-up routine", she called both Hillary and Ferraro "fucking whore[s]".

As I mentioned over a year ago, she has called for someone to assassinate George W. Bush. According to the comments, Rhodes has "called the Bush twins 'alcoholics' " on national television (on ABC). Her bosses at Air America were okay with that. But curse out the Anointed One and the First Female VP Candidate, and she's out.

I'm detecting double standard here.

===

LA mayor Antonio Villaraigosa is asking federal officials to back off on illegal immigration raids, saying it will cause "severe and long-lasting effects" on the local economy.

So picking up people who break the law - both the illegals and the companies who hire them - is less important than the local economy. What about the costs to emergency rooms, schools, welfare service providers, et al.

And don't give me the they-do-jobs-we-won't argument. Americans would do those jobs - way back when the Swift meat company was raided, there was a line around the block for those jobs.

===

Speaking of deporting...

The man who is Osama bin Laden's "ambassador" in Britain will be receiving benefits for life from the British government.

Why? Because a court determined that deporting him would violate his "human rights".

So the taxpayers to the British crown will pay him over $1000/month for life.

I'm glad I'm here and not there.

===

Much to do today. And then the gig, of course.

Thanks for being here.

Shower's free.

Be seeing you.



===

2 comments so far

Wyndspirit - 2008-04-11 21:29:38 - http://wyndspirit.diaryland.com
I see lots of double standards. If I say I see more of it on the liberal side, am I hatemongering? Oops... Better keep my mouth shut! BTW, I have cleaned toilets for a living. I thank these people, too. I always say hi and thank the garbage men on my street when I see them, and so does my next-door neighbor. We were commenting today on how she and I get superior service while everybody else gets their trash cans tossed all over. :)

===

Bob - 2008-04-11 22:55:13 - http://shadowgm.diaryland.com
The employers who suspended Rhodes are different from the ones who tolerated her previous remarks. The only hypocrisy I'm seeing is Rhodes not taking responsibility for her remarks, when she was castigating Clinton and Ferraro for theirs. --- And if that service person is at the Magic Kingdom, note their name and fill out a comment card at City Hall.

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.