Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Listen To What The Man Said

2008-05-05 - 12:03 p.m.

Busy weekend.

Probably the weirdest thing was a dream I had that included the following items: a car accident, a lasertag arena, getting stuck in the back of a tow truck, an ex-girlfriend from over twenty years ago, giraffes, and a fire in a backyard.

No, I'm not going to explain - even I don't get it.

===

The Wall Street Journal talks about windfall profits that the oil companies are supposedly getting and how oil company investments will go down if the government is going to raise the taxes on those investments.

Good quote:

This tiff over gas and oil taxes only highlights the intellectual policy confusion � or perhaps we should say cynicism � of our politicians. They want lower prices but don't want more production to increase supply. They want oil "independence" but they've declared off limits most of the big sources of domestic oil that could replace foreign imports. They want Americans to use less oil to reduce greenhouse gases but they protest higher oil prices that reduce demand. They want more oil company investment but they want to confiscate the profits from that investment. And these folks want to be President?

Oh, but the world price of oil at $116/barrel has nothing to do with how high gas is, right?

===

In the Blast From The Past Dept.:

Yet another classic TV show from the 70s is coming to DVD. Here's the intro.

"No thanks - we're trying to cut down!"

===

And here's another classic comedy bit - George Carlin's take on the environmentalists. Title: "The Planet Is Fine".

Listen to what the man says. I think he makes sense.

===

Well, it's Cinco de Mayo for a lot of people. For me, it's the fifth of the month...which means I need to go mail my rent.

Be seeing you.



===

2 comments so far

Bob - 2008-05-05 16:25:04 - http://shadowgm.diaryland.com
The politicians - notably Hillary - want it both ways. The gas tax was levied by people like her to pay for various mandates and environmental sensibilities; that cost was passed on to the consumer as any business would sensibly do. Now, she wants the corporations to still pay the tax, but out of pocket. It's sloppy math that doesn't address the cost of oil, the nation's need/demand, or practical alternatives.

===

Brin - 2008-05-05 18:05:32 -
Oh, I know that one without even peeking I *loved* that show! How nice it's being released!!

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.