Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Dogs

2008-06-13 - 11:51 a.m.

Worked a day shift yesterday. We were really busy, and I managed to get my right ring finger crushed real good between two tables. The bruise is fading, but it's still pretty tender.

Then I came home and took a nap...until Disneyland ran their fireworks at 8:45. Then I woke up, ordered a pizza, and watched City Hunter till the wee hours of the morning.

===

Came across this chart from Republican whip Roy Blunt. It lists the various Democrat and Republican policies regarding oil, and their "practical effects".

He's a politician, so naturally his chart will show the Republican plans are better. But considering that Nancy Pelosi said the Democrats would lower gas prices with a "commonsense plan" if they were elected in 2006 (said plan evidently doesn't exist), I can't cut the Democrats much slack.

===

Here's a climate change article from the New York Times.

Scientists have discovered that the climate, while "strangely stable" for "the last 8,000 to 10,000 years", "may get either warmer or colder much more quickly than had been believed - in spans of decades or even less." There have also been many interesting fluctuations over long periods of time. All of this tells me that climate change is natural.

Note the final comment from one of the scientists:

"If the Earth came with an operating manual, the chapter on climate might begin with a caveat that the system has been adjusted at the factory for optimum comfort, so don't touch the dials."

So STFU, Al Gore.

Oh, by the way...this article was published in 1993.

===

Interesting quote:

�What Barack Obama has accomplished is the single most extraordinary event that has occurred in the 232 years of the nation�s political history. The event itself is so extraordinary that another chapter could be added to the Bible to chronicle its significance."

Check this article to find out who said it.

Gee, we might as well not even bother holding an election in November.

===

The mayor of Seattle has issued an executive order: he wants "all departments to come up with a plan within 30 days to ban guns at all property owned by the city". The police chief says "[it] will help protect people at civic events".

Yeah, that'll work - I'm sure the bad guys will toss their guns in the trash. "Oh, I can't take my gun and shoot somebody - the mayor won't let me!!"

===

An elementary school in nearby (to me) Santa Ana unveiled new murals last week. And they've already been damaged by graffiti - one to the point of needing to be completely re-done.

Fucking taggers, marking their territory like dogs piss on a bush.

===

Well, I have more laundry to do. And then the gig later on tonight.

Be seeing you.



===

4 comments so far

Brin - 2008-06-13 19:11:59 -
I think the person who noted the pseudo-Biblical significance of the nomination of Obama might be angling for the job of Vice-President.

===

Bob - 2008-06-13 19:18:12 - http://shadowgm.diaryland.com
No guns on property owned by the city? Like police stations?

===

Dave - 2008-06-13 19:32:21 -
Bob, I'm sure some exceptions would be made for police stations and such. Point is - "gun free zones" don't work because the bad guys don't care.

===

Jeff - 2008-06-14 13:52:43 - http://musicman6724.diaryland.com
I've also heard somewhere that other planets, such as Jupiter and Saturn, are also experiencing "global warming." Is that our fault, too? Oh, and I heard a very interesting interview on Lars Larson the other night with a guy from Pennsylvania that practices "open carry" frequently, as the law allows that with NO PERMIT! Very interesting...

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.