Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Touch-a, Touch-a, Touch Me

2008-06-25 - 12:17 p.m.

Stayed up way too late last night. But laundry HAD to be done.

Although...some of those pairs of tighty-whiteys probably COULD have made it downstairs by themselves.

They'd just need some help carrying the detergent.

===

Was listening briefly to Tom Leykis yesterday. He was taking about an article that appeared in the LA Times about the new version of the iPhone - specifically, the following comment in the article (spelling and typing errors intact):

I want an iPhone with Stylus!!! My husband LOVES his iPhone, but with fingernails, I find it frustratingly difficult to use the keypad. I have an older iPAQ to use for minor online functions, & I don't even need to use it's stylus: just tap with fingernail & it's gold!

So, when my cellphone broke last week, I waited - patiently, G*D**IT! - wishing & hoping that Apple in it's infinite goodness & wisdom would just open up a stylus option when they made the big announcement of 2.0 & 3G today. NO LUCK! :(

Considering ergonomics & user testing studies indicated men & women use their fingers/nails differently Over TEN YEARS AGO, why does Apple persist in this misogyny?

My question: did she TRY OUT the thing before she bought, to see if it worked with her nails? Or, as Leykis suggested, did she simply get it because it was the newest/hottest "accessory"?

And because Apple didn't design it with fingernails in mind, the company is misogynistic?

===

OPEC has declared they won't lower oil prices.

But...but...I thought President Bush controlled everything!

Actually, I haven't heard "it's Bush's fault" much since the Democrats took control of the House and Senate back in 2006. Coincidence?

===

The Head Start program has made over $400 million in "improper" payments since 2005. So naturally, the proposal is for it to get $7.1 Billion for fiscal 2009.

Hey, it's only taxpayer's money, right?

And this is who we want to handle health care?

===

Over here are some ways to get by when you can't afford something.

Buy lots of duct tape, gang.

===

Brin told me about this yesterday.

The Sports section of Fark.com had this headline over this story:

All 30 MLB teams will wear special Stars and Stripes baseball hats on 7/4 and 9/11. America, f*ck yeah

We still plan on going to the game on 9/11. I can't think of anything more patriotic - or a better way to say "fuck you" to bin Laden - than to eat a hot dog at a baseball game.

And, just to fuck with their culture even more, I'll eat with my left hand.

===

Okay. Going to get some lunch, and then going to the store. We're on summer hours, so I can't shop at my favorite store after work for a few months.

Shower's free.

Be seeing you.



===

2 comments so far

Brin - 2008-06-25 19:21:41 -
After you eat with your left hand -- LICK YOUR FINGERS! AHHHHHH HAHAHAHHA!!!!!

===

requiel - 2008-06-25 23:23:31 - http://requiel.diaryland.com
I always cut my fingernails short. I have had them done before and it makes me feel like one of those HM women. It's not me, but you can still easily use an iphone with nails. you just use the pads of your fingers not the tips. I wonder if she knows that. I am picturing her in my head tapping the iphone with her weird curved extra long witch nails getting all mad because it won't work. heh,heh.

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.