Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Cool

2008-07-22 - 1:51 p.m.

We had someone having a surprise birthday party last night - a teenaged girl who arrived wearing a blindfold.

I happened to be in the parking lot when they arrived. Immediately, my devious little mind hatched a plan, and I hastened to the car. As the blindfolded guest opened her door, I said (in my best insane-butler/mad-scientist voice [which is pretty damn good, if I say so myself]), "Ahhh, the guest of honor has arrived. Now the festivities may commence!"

The mom started giggling. The guest immediately said, "Where are we??"

I kept it up in this vein until we got her inside and removed the blindfold. The guest laughed, recognizing where she was. The mom thanked me. I told her I love doing that kind of stuff...which I do.

I think I helped make their day. I hope so.

===

In the Well Now We Know Dept.:

One week after 9/11, Barack Obama was quoted thusly:

"The essence of this tragedy ... derives from a fundamental absence of empathy on the part of the attackers."

Oh, he also explains this "absence of empathy": that it grew out of a "... climate of poverty and ignorance, helplessness and despair."

This is the man who, if elected, will bear the responsibility of protecting us from the Islamic radicals who want to see us all dead. Ah, but that's not the way Obama sees it. Oh, no. You see, in his world (which must be different from mine) the Islamic terrorists who attacked us on 9/11 weren't mad at us, nor were they trying to use terrorist tactics to influence our politics. And they also weren't fighting for the cause of Islam (that fine religion of peace).

They were poor and ignorant, felt helpless, and their anguish drove them to fly airplanes into buildings and kill over 3000 people.

I'm sure glad THAT got cleared up

===

Well, it looks like Nancy Pelosi isn't going to allow a vote to allow off-shore drilling. Instead she wants the Strategic Petroleum Reserve to be used.

House Minority Whip Roy Blunt says that, by saying this, Pelosi is "admitting that supply makes a difference", and we should go after "real supply, not what we�ve been able to hoard away.�

Oh, and Pelosi has called Bush "a total failure". Well, Bush didn't do it alone - he had help from Congress.

And that includes Pelosi.

===

And yet more proof that Al Gore is a hypocrite (emphasis mine):

On Thursday, former U. S. vice-president Al Gore delivered a major address calling on his country to abandon all fossil fuels within 10 years. By 2018, U. S. electricity and fuel should come entirely from "renewable energy and truly clean, carbon-free sources," he said. Tickets to the event encouraged attendees to "please use public transit, bicycling or other climate-friendly means" to reach the lecture hall.

So how did Mr. Gore and his retinue arrive? In two Lincoln Town Cars and a full-sized SUV that sat idling with the air conditioners blasting while the Gore party was inside.

It was 34 C in Washington. Al Gore can't be expected to get into an overheated vehicle after he's worked up a sweat telling others how to save the planet.

And:

Mr. Gore's Live Earth benefit concert last summer flew scores of rock bands to stages around the world in carbon-spewing private jets. To cover the emissions from his own frequent use of private jets, Mr. Gore set up a company that buys carbon offsets, so that in effect he is paying himself for his carbon indulgences, writing off the expense on one hand, while pocketing the proceeds on the other.

And there's the title link.

===

Okay. Slept late, need to eat before work.

Be seeing you.



===

4 comments so far

Brin - 2008-07-22 21:00:03 -
Now just a minute here, Old Buddy. Hasn't your personal analysis of 9/11 changed since the weeks after it happened? Yes? Well, why can't that be the case with Barack Obama? That was something he said seven years ago. I dare say YOUR outlook on life has changed a lot in seven years. Allow him the same privelege, please.

===

Dave - 2008-07-22 21:02:16 -
It's entirely possible he has changed ("change" being his mantra). Since this story is coming out, I'm sure he'll respond.

===

Brin - 2008-07-22 21:07:33 -
Oh, I agree, and hope he will do exactly that. But gee, if every senator ever elected were held to account for every dumb thing they ever mumbled into a mic, nobody would be electable to the office of President. :-)

===

requiel - 2008-07-23 00:11:03 - http://requiel.diaryland.com
All we need to do is strap on a ton of solar panels on every surface and Kabam! energy problem solved. I am so smart.

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.