Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


The Human Race

2008-08-28 - 12:57 p.m.

Yesterday, I didn't write.

Today I am. And it's all political.

Fasten your seatbelts - it's going to be a bumpy ride.

===

For the first item, I'm going to quote Brin from her entry today:

Instead of letting us enjoy having all of the delegates announce their numbers, one state at a time, Senator Clinton moved from the convention floor to suspend the roll call of the states and formalize her former rival's nomination by acclamation.

I have never seen it done in my lifetime, but I haven't seen every minutes of every convention since I became a voter, either -- but it was still somehow kind of jarring to just hurry things along.

I think I know why. It was so Hillary didn't have to stand there and hear state after state say, in essence: "We of the great state of [state name] cast our votes for the next President of the United States of America...SOMEONE ELSE!!!"

I don't think Hillary's ego could've taken that. So she made sure it didn't happen.

===

Over here is an article about the Democrat party platform.

It's worth a read, especially if you're a taxpayer - because all that money has to come from somewhere.

===

Speaking of taxpayers, an activist here in California is collecting signatures to put a new "wealth tax" on the ballot. The tax would be a 35% surtax - this would be on top of the usual federal and state taxes.

According to the article, a person making one million dollars would wind up paying over $600,000 in taxes on that income.

And, if they decided to leave the state, there would be an additional tax levied of 38.6% on "both recognized income and unrealized appreciation in asset values over $5 million".

You gotta be kidding me. It was noted in an editorial in the OC Register that those top income earners pay about 20% of the revenues going to the state.

What's going to happen if they leave?

===

Check this out:

Paying Republicans a backhanded compliment, House Democratic Caucus Chairman Rahm Emanuel said on Wednesday that the McCain campaign had succeeded in making race a factor in this presidential election.

"They did a good job bringing up a topic they wanted brought up," Emanuel said. By suggesting the Obama campaign had brought up race first, he added, Republicans had managed to raise the issue without provoking backlash.

On July 31, John McCain's campaign manager, Rick Davis, accused Barack Obama of playing "the race card," after the Illinois senator had said Republicans would point out that "he doesn't look like all those other presidents on the dollar bills."

"They got it through customs," Emanuel said, claiming Republicans had raised the race issue under the guise of indignation, as they have done in the past.

I seem to recall Obama mentioning race way back when he said that the Republicans would "remind you [the voters] of it".

It seems to me that Obama is the one bringing up "race" - which to me is the wrong term, since we're all the same race - human.

I've said this many times: I would have no problem with a black man or a woman as President. Will I vote for Obama? Probably not. But I'm not sure I'd vote for McCain yet, either. I've also said I'm not a fan of either of them.

But it will be very entertaining if, as the buzz may suggest, McCain selects a woman for the VP slot.

===

And now, a bit of cute:

Look at dat FAAAAAAAACE!!!

===

Today's title comes from The Frantics.

Just so you know.

===

Today I will head to the laundromat to wash the bedding - with Chinese food for lunch, natch.

Then more house cleaning. Actually, it's more of a house detailing.

I may even get to watch some of the ball game tonight.

Be seeing you.



===

2 comments so far

Bindyree aka Brin - 2008-08-28 20:22:28 - http://bindyree.diaryland.com
And look at da CRRRUUUMMBS!!! Wheee!

===

Bob - 2008-08-29 14:49:57 - http://shadowgm.diaryland.com
Interesting take on Hillary's call to suspend the roll call vote. Of course, it's not just that - she's now in a position to say she allowed him to win the nomination. Also, it doesn't blow her fuzzy math out of the water. This will all come back to haunt us like a bad pizza.

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.