Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Shake It

2008-09-15 - 12:08 p.m.

Oh, what a weekend it was.

Let's start with Angels baseball. On Friday, Mike Napoli hit a walk-off home run to win the game 5-3. On Saturday, Frankie Rodriguez broke the single-season save record by picking up number 58. On Sunday, Chone Figgins (who was the DH, for crying out loud), hit a walk-off single to win the game 4-3 and complete the sweep of the Mariners.

Today they rest. They've sure earned it.

===

On Sunday, Brin conferred with John and they agreed to finance a new printer to replace my earthquake-battered one (thanks very very much, you two!!).

So we went to Fry's, where the hilarity began. They didn't have the one I wanted to get (the iP3500) but they DID have the iP4500 (for another $50). The sales guy said they might have the iP3500 by Tuesday. Brin and I conferred and decided to go for the bird-in-the-hand.

When the sales guy checked the stock, he found that, although his computer system said there were five iP4500s in stock, there were actually...none. What he DID find was the iP4600 - the next printer up in the line. This thing is brand-new - released just this month. And it was cheaper than the one it replaces, the iP4500.

So we grabbed. We also found out that Fry's doesn't stock the ink cartridges, but I'm sure they'll get them soon enough. I did find them on Amazon.com, so I have a source if needed.

We then trotted home and set it up. There was a minor panic when Brin thought the paper cartridge wouldn't work with regular paper. I consulted the "Getting Started" manual and found that the removable paper tray EXPANDS, once you move a little tab on the paper tray. Panic averted.

We got the software installed on both my PC and her Mac. And it's on a USB connector, so she can print with no trouble.

Best of all, the whole unit closes up when not in use...the better to keep the dust bunnies out.

===

After all that computer exertion, we got some Papa Johns pizza and watched some Alien Nation. We started doing our evening rounds, and POOF - my monitor died.

Now again, this may be from the quake - since then, the left edge of my picture had started doing strange things, and a burning scent was occasionally present. I had a hunch it was going to go. So as a precaution, I had brought my back-up monitor upstairs from the garage. So I installed the replacement, and now all works.

But I'm looking into LCD monitors - just in case.

===

Some felt that Sarah Palin came off very badly in her interview with Charles Gibson.

Take a look at the comparison of questions Gibson asked Barack Obama and questions he asked Palin. Major difference between questions asked of a presidential candidate versus a VP candidate.

And it seems ABC News did some heavy editing.

Bias? What bias?

===

Time to get on with it.

Shower's free.

Be seeing you.



===

1 comments so far

Brin - 2008-09-15 19:16:47 -
That editing bias is not right no matter who you're trying to screw over.

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.