Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


You Made Me

2008-09-17 - 11:28 a.m.

Brin packs up tonight to head back to San Francisco.

Thankfully, I'll be at work - and thus out of her way.

===

Nancy Pelosi believes that the Democrats bear absolutely no responsibility for the current financial crisis.

Problem with that. A huge chunk of the financial problems we're having are based on bad mortgage lending - i.e, lending money to people to buy homes who didn't qualify for a loan. Now, back in the 70's, the Democrats lambasted the financial institutions for too-strict loan requirements, and started drafting laws that forced lenders to offer loans to people who wouldn't qualify otherwise.

Then, during the Clinton presidency, Democrats strengthened a set of laws called the "Community Reinvestment Act." This law was then used as a tool by activists to force lending institutions to make these bad loans - millions of them.

Now you can see what happens when political "wisdom" overrules good loan underwriting. When private financial institutions are virtually forced to make loans to people with bad credit and a lousy history with jobs - people who can't afford homes in the first place - this is what'll happen.

Me, I've worked at the same place for over sixteen years. My credit is absolutely lousy, due to stupid things I did when I was young. I don't know if I'll ever own a house. But I do know that, if I did try to get a loan, it would be a non-adjustable so the payments would be the same every month.

When it comes to mortgage payments, surprises are a bad thing.

===

Oh, and it seems this kind of bad economic news is just what the Obama team wanted.

Isn't that nice?

===

Oh, the terrible scandal - Sarah Palin had a tanning bed installed at the Governor's mansion! And she bought it used with her own money! Not TAXPAYER'S money, but HERS!!

I personally know someone - Brin, as it turns out - who needs light therapy, which (according to the comments) is something that a tanning bed can be used for. Is it possible that it's not just for cosmetic purposes? And is it possible that, if she got it used, she didn't pay what the US Magazine article is claiming she paid?

===

Today we have several things to accomplish before I go to work.

Shower's free.

Be seeing you.



===

1 comments so far

artgnome - 2008-09-17 20:49:48 - http://artgnome.diaryland.com
If a used tanning bed is the worst thing they can say about her, I think she's in pretty good standing. Sounds like they are grasping at straws to me.

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.