Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


I Will Say No

2008-09-29 - 1:53 p.m.

Congress has voted down the bailout.

On FOX, Donald Trump said oil prices should be dropping like a rock very soon, and that the American economy will weather this and come out even stronger. Trump is one of the most successful businessmen in the world, so I'm willing to trust his analysis.

The FOX reporter mentioned that the Dow drop of about 500 points, while serious, isn't in the top ten of percentage drops. The Black Monday crash in 1987 was a 25% drop, while today's was only a 6% drop.

We will get through this, folks. It's bad, yes - but it's been much worse before.

But remember - the Democrats had nothing to do with this. Just ask Nancy Pelosi.

===

Well, the Angels finally did it - they won Sunday to get their first 100-win season. It took them the entire season (Sunday's game was the last game of the regular season), but they did it...and on Fan Appreciation Day, yet. How's that for good timing?

And the other interesting thing about their season is that their at-home and away standings are exactly the same: 50-31. They couldn't have done that if they planned it.

Their post-season starts Monday against the Red Sox. Last year, they played the Red Sox in the first round of the play-offs, and the Sox swept. Let's hope it's different this year.

===

I wasn't able to catch the debate, but the response on many websites seems to be the usual. The pro-Obama sites say Obama won, and the pro-McCain sites say McCain won.

But all the sites are giving points to both sides.

So I'd call it a draw. Not to worry, there'll be more.

===

I woke this morning to the sound of thunder. No, I didn't start humming a song from 1962.

It's cloudy but warm. No rain in the forecast.

Time to get on with my day.

Be seeing you.



===

1 comments so far

Bob - 2008-09-30 00:38:00 - http://shadowgm.diaryland.com
Pelosi voted in favor of the bailout. I've seen the prepared text of her remarks prior to the vote, and I'm wondering, exactly, what was so offensive, so 'partisan,' that it tipped the balance? And if the package was sound (which I personally don't agree with), why would you use 'partisan remarks' as an excuse? Who are you punishing, Nancy Pelosi, or the American taxpayer?

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.