Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Walking In L.A. [but not PA]

2008-11-14 - 12:51 p.m.

So yesterday, being a day off, I spent the whole day relaxing. Roommate Jim came through a couple times, but other than that I had the place to myself.

I did my two loads of laundry, but other than that...I didn't do a damn thing.

Except the crossword. And that had its challenges. I wound up putting it aside and coming back to it. There was a deadlock in the middle and, after my break from it, I was able to get it finished.

There were three clues that messed me up:

Four letters, "Mongol's tent" - "YURT".
Five letters, "rot-resistant wood" - "ALDER".
Five letters, "bring out" - "EDUCE".

"Educe"? "Yurt"?? More words I'd never heard of, ever.

And the website I use when I'm home (and the one Brin uses to help when I'm doing the puzzle at work on my break), www.oneacross.com, was down. I had to use another site that only gives word possibilities. At oneacross.com, you can also input the clue as well as the known letters.

===

There's talk of Barack Obama creating a White House "Climate Czar", and - you guessed it - Al Gore was on the short list.

His Goreness, however, is declining the position.

Of course he is - he owns a company that sells "carbon credits", so that would be a conflict of interest right there. And he's making far more money by giving speeches.

===

A twenty-five-year Marine veteran (whose son was killed when the U.S.S. Cole was bombed), who works as a civilian employee at Camp Lejeune, has a couple of anti-Islam bumper stickers on his car. The Marines have now cited him for displaying "offensive material", and have banned his vehicle from all federal installations.

This includes Arlington National Cemetery. Where his son is buried.

A lawsuit has been filed on the Marine's behalf against the commanding officer.

I hope he wins. He has just as much right to express his opinion as anyone else.

===

In Pennsylvania, a bus driver was fired for striking and injuring a pedestrian. This is the third time in eight years that this driver has hit someone, including a doctor who died from his injuries.

His union is fighting the action, saying the driver's previous driving record isn't relevant to his current firing (he had been fired for hitting the doctor; the union helped him get his job back).

Remind me not to walk the streets of Erie, PA.

===

Okay. Much to do this weekend. We're going to have thirty-five parties at work tomorrow.

Have a good weekend. Mine will be busy.

Be seeing you.



===

2 comments so far

Jeff - 2008-11-15 14:46:07 - http://musicman6724.diaryland.com
This is exactly why unions need to be disbanded. The day of the union's usefulness is long gone.

===

Bob - 2008-11-15 18:54:32 - http://shadowgm.diaryland.com
Union guy here. We're not all a bunch of corrupt, inept scumbags, Jeff. (Well, hard to tell when the media is worshipping that tax-dogding, unlicensed welfare case named Joe Wurzelbacher.) And given that we're in the midst of an economic crisis where corporate leaders are being bailed out by taxpayers (including said useless union types), and STILL paying out bonuses to themselves and/or holding posh retreats on our dime, who really needs the kick in the pants? The union worker?

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.