Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Fame

2009-02-17 - 11:50 a.m.

So it rained yesterday - big time. I grabbed lunch at Taco Bell, and the drive-thru lane was FLOODED.

I get to work. The GM tells me that every time the rain stopped, they'd send the maintenance guys out to squeegee the golf courses...and every time, the rain would start again. So we weren't going to be selling mini-golf at all.

So folks inundated lasertag, instead.

Also got the word from Walter that we had a "secret shopper" Saturday evening, and I "did very well".

I always try very hard to "do very well"...even when the person I'm helping ISN'T a secret shopper.

===

So the US Postmaster General, one John E. Potter, told Congress that the USPS came up short by $2.8 billion in 2008. People at the post office actually got laid off, stamp prices are going up again...and Potter's pay has gone up 40% since 2006. Oh, and he got a $135k bonus last year.

Well, gosh...I thought that, if you're taking government money, you were going to be limited in how much you could be paid - as in, no more than President Obama. This guy's salary is more than double that amount.

And now Congress is investigating. But since when does a government exec salary go down?

After all...how in heaven's name can you live on $800k/yr?

===

This article talks about how Barack Obama broke seven campaign promises...all with the same bill. And all within a month of being elected.

If all of this is true...how is this "change"?

===

Michael Phelps won't face drug charges after all.

Hopefully he's learned that, when he's out and about, he's "on stage" - and anything he says or does will be noted and possibly held against him. Heck, if I'm wearing my work shirt for any reason - like, if I'm having lunch before my shift starts, of I do some after-work shopping, or whatever - I know that I'm representing my company. When I have that shirt on, what I do and say shows what kind of people work there even if I'm not at work

Price of fame, man.

===

It's not raining right now, but it's supposed to.

Time to get going.

Be seeing you.



===

1 comments so far

artgnome - 2009-02-17 21:24:36 - http://artgnome.diaryland.com
I'm a cynic and pretty much expected the great change to not be change at all. I still believe that it's a strong possibility that our presidents are just a figurehead for the five top corporations that are actually running this country.

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.