Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Roll On

2009-03-17 - 11:53 a.m.

Happy St. Patrick's Day, folks.

===

Had an interesting dream last night. I was a former President of the United States. I went out and had lunch with Bill Clinton. No Secret Service - just the two of us.

We were supposed to go back to some sort of compound for a meeting with other former Presidents. Clinton left in an SUV. I got a Segway.

I was delayed by a crowd of people in the street. I talked to them for awhile. One lady said, "You look familiar, somehow."

I replied with a grin, "Where have you been the last four years?"

Recognition was just dawning on her face as I rolled away.

When I returned to the "compound", I was chewed out for taking so long in getting back.

And then the alarm went off.

I have no idea what it's all about. All I know is, I didn't eat anything weird last night.

===

Speaking of government...

President Obama has stated that he would like wounded GIs to pay for their own medical treatment (through private insurance) for injuries received in Iraq and Afghanistan, rather than have government pick up the tab.

Let me get this straight. Everyone in Congress gets health care benefits for life, but someone who is wounded while in military service should pay for his own care? What's wrong with this picture?

Never mind the added hypocrisy that goes with the whole "universal health care" thing. Private insurance costs too much - the government will make sure everyone gets care.

Except for those who had the temerity to get hurt in a war zone.

===

Now, local politics.

Here in California, we're having a serious budget problem.

The state government finally passed a budget a couple weeks ago, and already some state representatives are saying we're going to run out of money (again) in a couple months. Remember, things got so bad here that they had to issue IOUs in place of tax refunds.

We're bleeding red ink, and badly.

So why is it that the number of state government employees is growing, even though our Gubernator ordered a hiring freeze?

===

In the Head Splort Dept. comes this video.

All together, now: awwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.

===

Okay, I'm outta here.

And yes, I'll be wearing green - I bought a St. Patrick's Day pin at Disneyland that features Kermit The Frog. I wore one last year, too.

I'll also be wearing green boxers (well, black with green clovers on it - it's my "lucky" pair of shorts) if Walter makes me take off the pin.

Be seeing you.



===

0 comments so far

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.