Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


You Can't Do That

2009-03-20 - 11:24 a.m.

I'm not sure, but I think President Obama has left the O.C.

I'm pleased that he had a safe and (hopefully) pleasant trip. I was concerned that some idiot racist might have tried something stupid.

Despite this being the 21st century, there are still people out there who think a black man shouldn't be president.

There's a word for people like that. That word is "fool".

===

Yesterday, I was going to go to Fry's and get some new memory for the computer. This will be the last hardware update I perform until I completely re-do the guts of it. That will most likely be a couple of years from now.

So I drove down to Fry's. I double-checked the ad and found I'd made a serious miscalculation. What I thought was a good price (one DDR2 memory card for $20) turned out to be the price after mail-in rebate ($40 each was the in-store price).

This sale was going to end that day. My tax refund was scheduled to arrive today (Friday), and I just couldn't afford to pay $80 and hope my rebate got processed in a timely manner.

So instead I picked up two DVDs of Shaun the Sheep.

===

On my way to Fry's, one of my ex-wife's favorite songs came on the radio. This got me to thinking about some other songs she liked, and how I might react to them if I heard them again.

I moved out almost three years ago, and have been officially divorced for two years. I know that, sometimes, something will trigger in my brain and memories will come back...and some may be painful.

In this case, it was a song I liked, so I enjoyed the tune.

===

Got a call from Bob Chance's son - Bob is going back into the hospital again next week. The plan is to do some bypass surgery on his leg to help restore circulation.

He should be walking again in about ten days or so.

Oh, and still no word about the band starting up again.

===

ccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccc cccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccccc cccccccccccccc

Translation: Solange says "hello".

===

The US House of Representatives voted in a 90% tax on the bonus money paid to folks at AIG.

Now, I'm not a lawyer or expert on the Constitution, but there's this one clause in the Constitution that should come into play:

Article 1, Section 9, Clause 5 - United States Constitution

"No bill of Attainder or ex post facto law shall be passed."

Seems pretty clear-cut to me.

And there's your title link.

===

I don't even want to think about how much crap this child will have to put up with throughout his life...all because of his geeky parents.

===

Okay. Since I have tax money, I have some shopping to do...including some drum gear. Hey, just because we aren't playing right now doesn't mean I don't need stuff.

Have a good weekend.

Be seeing you.



===

1 comments so far

Bob - 2009-03-21 18:36:46 - http://shadowgm.diaryland.com
The post-bonus tax plan is more foolishness from the 'Look! We're Doing Something!' farm. Truth is, taxpayers were asking for accountability and a limit to executive thievery, er, bonuses when the idea of bailing out these mo- um, very fine gentlemen was first proposed. But, no, members of Congress on both sides were falling all over themselves to get it passed so they could go back to sleep or something.

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.