Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Coming Home

2009-04-18 - 1:59 p.m.

A Saturday entry?

Yes.

===

7:00am - Awake. Tried to sleep, and can't. Laila comes home today. I hope it all works out.

9:30 - After reading the paper, showering, shaving, etc., I'm on my way to do a couple things before going to the vet.

10:30 - In waiting room. Have seen the X-ray - the repair is nice and solid. She's eating well and the whole staff loves her. I get Laila's pain meds, care instructions and make an appointment for a follow-up visit on Friday (a change of the splint and another X-ray, plus possible changes). Since she isn't supposed to jump at all, they loan me an extra-large cage for Laila to stay in while I'm at work.

11:00 - Home. Opened cage, Laila comes out, makes herself at home by rubbing up against everything in sight, including Solange:

Solange isn't having any of it. There's a small argument. I put Laila back into the extra-large cage. Solange sticks a paw in. Laila bats at it. Not a good start.

11:05 - I open the cage to put in a litter dish. Laila gets out. I feed and water her. Solange sniffs at the cast, Laila growls and smacks at Solange.

For the next (almost) two hours, I watch them and take some pictures. There's some antagonism and territory issues, including food and water. I finally ignore them both. Laila flops down in the hall:

Solange goes up on a chair. And they proceed to ignore each other.

1:00pm - I come into the bedroom to download the pictures and write this. Laila starts licking her stitches. I put the funnel collar on. Laila is annoyed, but finally lays back down.

1:05 - Solange walks past Laila to come into the bedroom...and leans out to touch noses. Laila tolerates this - I hear no growling.

===

Right this second, both are flopped down and ignoring each other.

What was it Dumbledore said to Snape and Sirius?

"I will settle, in the short term, [...] for a lack of open hostility."

Yeah. Me too.

===

Here's a closeup of the cast at the top of the incision. Ouch.

This is what your donations go toward. We all thank you.

===

So while I'm at work, I'll put Laila back in the big cage with the litter box and some water and food.

Here's hoping we all survive.

Be seeing you.



===

1 comments so far

art - 2009-04-18 22:26:20 - http://arthurc1958.blogspot.com
thats a mighty big cast she got there!! one thing ive noticed with cats, they will generally leave each other alone, if you the human aint paying any attention to them! touching noses is a good sign. they are getting to know each other, after awhile they will get used to each other.

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.