Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


From Where I Stand

2009-05-07 - 11:32 a.m.

Laila continues to improve. Last night, she and Solange chased each other around the living room a bit.

The limp seems to be fading, which is a good sign.

===

There's been some discussion about Laila in e-mails. There's been some question of why I continue saying "if I keep her".

Let me re-state my position on this: I WANT to keep her. Nothing would please me more than for Laila, Solange, and I to stay together for the duration of our natural lives.

But it's not my decision. It is entirely up to Solange. If she cannot accept Laila, then both of them will be unhappy here - and that's not fair to either of them.

After some discussion, it's been agreed to keep Laila here through the summer at the bare minimum. If Solange can accept Laila's presence (and there have been signs that Solange will) then Laila will stay. It's also been agreed that if something MAJOR happens - like a knock-down drag-out draw-blood cat fight, for instance - then something may happen before that.

But unless something MAJOR happens, I am going to take care of Laila to the best of my abilities.

You have my word on that.

===

I gotta tell ya, some of the Laila care-time has scared me. I have prayed for guidance - to do what's best for her, not what's best for me.

And sometimes things have popped into my head - ideas that have worked out very well for keeping Laila happy and comfortable during her convalescence.

Are those ideas coming from me, just from instinct? Or from Someone Else? I don't know.

What I do know is THIS cat, THIS vet, and all of THESE generous people who have been willing to donate their time and money - all of this has been placed in my Path.

It has been a scary time. But it has also been tremendously rewarding.

==

Now, a bit of news commentary.

As part of the Chrysler bankruptcy plan, the $7.2 BILLION dollars that Chrysler got to prevent its going bankrupt will NOT be repaid.

That's right. Over $7 billion of taxpayer money - gone. Vaporized. Buh bye.

A "portion" of $4 billion MAY be recovered. And there's an "8% equity stake" that is supposed to "compensate" taxpayers.

That makes me feel SO much better.

===

And in sports, Manny Ramirez of the Dodgers has been suspended for fifty games due to steroid use. This was the same player who said last year, "Gas is up, and so am I." As in, "I want your offer raised by at least $20 million before I even talk to you."

Couldn't have happened to a nicer guy.

===

Speaking of baseball...

The Angels are having a tough start to the year. The starting rotation has had a large number of injuries, and the death of Nick Adenhart has been a powerful blow.

The triple-A pitchers that have been called up - Anthony Ortega, Matt Palmer, Shane Loux - have done an excellent job. There just hasn't been a lot of run support. That may change once John Lackey, Ervin Santana, and Kelvim Escobar return - the presence of the Big Dogs on the mound may help inspire the others.

But there's still hope. It's still early in the season. Anyway, the last time there was a start this bad was in 2002...and we all know how that ended.

===

Okay. Time to get on with the day.

Be seeing you.



===

1 comments so far

art - 2009-05-07 21:55:27 - http://arthurc1958.blogspot.com
im happy that you will be keeping laila thru the summer and i know that by then solange and her will settle down. cats that live together like that will wrestle and chase each other around and its all in play. but you are right, if there is a 15 round ali - frazier rumble in the jungle and you will know it if THAT happens, then yea do what you can, and i know you will make the right decision! Questions? Ask me!
im glad manny got busted, he is one arrogant SOB, i know you are a angels fan, but im a giants fan. good luck!!

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.