Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


The Chase

2009-05-13 - 11:14 a.m.

On Monday I installed the new lasertag computer. This one runs a new program and is built on Windows XP instead of MS-DOS 6.22.

They made some changes. Some were a small step backward (IMHO) but most were pretty good. In my feedback, I gave them a couple ideas that may make it into the next revision.

We'll see how that goes.

===

Over the course of last night, Laila jumped up onto the bed and curled up to nap with me. All together, now: awwwwww.

Jump to later on. A sound awoke me at about 6am. I opened my eyes to see Laila on top of the VCR, which is on top of a small television that's in the bedroom. That television is on top of my dresser.

So she had jumped from the floor to the dresser and then to the VCR...and was eyeing the window sill where the fan lives (and stays, thanks to Velcro). She jumped down at my voice. A little scary, but that does mean her leg is healing very well.

I went into the living room where she and Solange began chasing each other and leaping out at each other from behind corners. There were low growls and a little bit of hissing...but it sure looked like play.

===

Then when I finally woke up, Solange was on the window perch and Laila was in the living room. While I chatted with Laila, Solange came in to see what was happening. Solange curled up on the floor while Laila walked about. I was laying on the floor, less than a foot from Solange.

Laila came up, sniffed Solange's face...and did a little grooming on it. And Solange's eyes closed in pleasure. This lasted maybe ten seconds. Then Laila went away to do more exploring.

There are times where they seem like there's a lot of animosity between those two. There are other times when they look like they're playing. And then there are a few times when they actually seem to be enjoying each other's company.

The female mind can be downright un-fathomable at times...no matter the species.

===

Speaking of female minds...

Last night, a very nice lady came in to talk to me. Her husband is celebrating his 40th birthday, and she wants to do something rather unique - a party based on The Amazing Race, with clue boxes and "detours" and "roadblocks" and everything. The seven two-player teams will be going all over the OC, and she wanted Camelot to be one of the locations, complete with clue box.

Her original plan was to somehow incorporate lasertag into one of the challenges. We talked for about thirty minutes, before we decided to make Camelot a "detour" - a choice of two tasks, one of which must be selected before you even find out what it is. The tasks have been chosen, and I volunteered to write the clue and prep the envelopes.

I don't want to give too much away, but I think her husband - and the other "contestants" - will enjoy it.

Bwah hah hah...

===

It occurs to me that I haven't eaten at HomeTown Buffet in quite awhile.

I think I'll do that today, before work.

Be seeing you.



===

1 comments so far

Jay - 2009-05-13 21:42:25 -
Dave: Our two cats are brothers. They play like crazy but will also growl and hiss when one seems to have the upper hand. However, one of them is definitely the "alpha cat". Just thought I would share that. Jay

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.