Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Sell Out

2009-05-22 - 1:34 p.m.

Late entry today. Woke up again and just couldn't get the creative juices flowing.

So I went back to bed for a few more hours.

I'm okay now.

===

Two members of Congress have come up with ideas to bring in revenue - raise the taxes on beer and wine...and, when interviewed, say they "don't really" support these ideas.

I guess when President Obama said his administration would make sure that taxes on the poor and middle-class wouldn't go up, he meant income taxes.

Or maybe they think only rich people drink beer and wine.

===

Someone else is upset at Wal-Mart - the band Green Day.

Evidently their new album has profanity in it and, according to standard Wal-Mart policy, won't be sold at Wal-Mart stores.

So Green Day is crying "censorship".

I'm calling bullshit on this so-called "censorship". Green Day was never told what language they could or could not use while recording their album - they recorded what they felt was their best product. Wal-Mart's policy of not selling music with explicit lyrics is nothing new - in fact, some artists have re-recorded cleaner versions so that their wares could be sold at Wal-Mart. And Green Day's music can be found at other brick-and-mortar stores, like Target...or online, if you prefer. Green Day chose to use explicit lyrics, and Wal-Mart chooses not to sell such product. If the consumers disagree with Wal-Mart's policies, they are free to go elsewhere.

Wal-Mart is NOT saying Green Day can't record what they want. Wal-Mart is NOT trying to suppress Green Day's music. That WOULD be censorship.

One of the commentators makes a good point. It would be like forcing an all-vegan restaurant to carry meat dishes.

Just go somewhere else.

===

Speaking of music...

I helped Bob in the studio last night. Most of the help consisted of helping set things up and break things down, because he's still recovering from his recent surgery.

He tells me he's ready to go back to work. I told him I'm willing when he is.

We've got some new video of us onstage. If you want to see - and if you have a strong stomach, since I do a lot of the singing - go here.

===

I need to go in to work for a bit - more lasertag stuff.

This should be the last Friday I have to go in to do this work. But the money is helpful.

Be seeing you.



===

3 comments so far

Mel - 2009-05-22 21:23:05 - http://mel-is-dvash.diaryland.com
I loved seeing and hearing you - that was great! :-) Thanks for the link.

===

art - 2009-05-24 18:23:18 -
its because its wal-mart!! just a chance for the wal mart haters to twist things around, as usual! note that the wal mart haters LOVE to shop at wal mart!!

===

Sheri - 2009-05-27 23:15:19 -
That's right...it's a choice. People have the right not to choose. No one should force anything or anyone. I don't approve of censorship myself, but I do wished that people could be more responsible for the things that come out of their mouths. Freedom of speech is a great thing, especially when used responsibly.

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.