Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Born In The U. S. A.

2009-08-04 - 12:06 p.m.

Well, the temperature is up a bit, but according to the local news it's supposed to drop down some over the rest of the week.

And, according to my boss, summer season will last through September 8.

So another week has been tacked on to the "three months of chaos". Ah well.

===

Today is President Barack Obama's birthday. And as such, I'm inclined to speak out about a controversy that needs to be squashed.

You know those "truthers" - the folks who believe 9/11 was an "inside job" performed by government agents? Or that it was done by the Jews to prevent the government from seeing just how much money they have? Or the Twin Towers were brought down by aliens who saw it as an obscene phallic symbol that emulated their alien penises?

Okay, I'm not sure about that last one. But if it was an inside job, that would mean that the two planes were flown into the Towers (and the Pentagon) just for the hell of it. Also, you would presume that the security cameras that (presumably) were all over both buildings would have picked up images of someone - more likely several someones - bringing in enough explosives to bring the Towers down.

Sorry to re-open those wounds. I personally know folks who had co-workers that were killed on 9/11. But the "truthers" are fools...which brings up my next point.

There is currently a "birthers" group - folks who believe Barack Obama was not born in Hawaii but Kenya, and therefore ineligible to be President. This group includes some Republican lawmakers.

Now, Hawaiian state law forbids "public release of an individual's birth certificate". There have been copies posted, but the original has never been released. The director of Hawaii's State Department of Health, one Dr. Chiyome Fukino, has stated more than once that she has "seen the original vital records".

Personally, I think the "birthers" are 100% wrong. But I do agree with this pundit - Barack Obama, as president, could give the state of Hawaii permission to release the original birth certificate and prove that the "birthers" are wrong.

It would be a way to embarrass these folks, which include the supposed "leader of the Republicans" - Rush Limbaugh. It would also help prop up the campaign promise about this being a "transparent" administration. So why not?

George W. Bush endured much worse from the Democrats during his administration. This would be an opportunity for the Democrats. I'm surprised that they won't take it.

===

Still think the "evil rich" don't pay their "fair share" in taxes?

You're still wrong.

===

Forgot to tell y'all.

I came home from the gig Saturday night/Sunday morning, and heard music coming from next door. I recognized the song, but it wasn't being done by the original artist.

I was pretty sure I knew what my neighbor was watching, and it turns out I was right. But I was still surprised.

It was Sgt. Pepper.

===

And on that image, I need to get going.

Be seeing you.



===

0 comments so far

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.