Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Take A Look Around

2009-08-10 - 12:11 p.m.

Pretty good weekend. The band gig continues to be solid and tips are good.

Supposedly they will expand the kitchen to a full-on restaurant when they buy out the place next door. That's supposed to be in a couple months. I just hope they expand the stage while they're at it.

I also hope they don't close the place again.

===

I had to go to the bank last week to make a deposit at the ATM. When I got there, I found that Wells Fargo has changed their ATMs to a non-envelope format. Now, instead of putting your items in an envelope and writing how much is in there on the outside, you insert the items directly into the deposit slot. They are scanned and an image appears on the screen where you can verify the amount on the check.

I don't like this, purely from a security standpoint. A picture of the check you just deposited, on the screen (and on your receipt, if you choose that option). What's to stop somebody directly behind you from taking a pic with a cell phone? The tech is getting better all the time. The resolution may wind up being good enough to get info from the check.

Also, if you have cash to deposit, you have to insert the bills one at a time so they can be scanned and confirmed. If there's a lot of bills, that will take time. [UPDATE: The ATM can take up to fifty bills or thirty checks at one time; the items are scanned and a total for you to confirm comes up on the screen.] And again, if someone sees you have a lot of cash and decides to take it from you...well, I would just feel better about putting my cash deposits in an envelope. But now, that option has been taken away - the envelope reservoir has been emptied, so if you happen to have a large amount of cash you're better off going into the bank and dealing with a teller...which isn't always convenient.

I think this is a bad idea. And the next time I have to deposit cash, I will tell the bank manager how I feel.

Hopefully, unlike Nancy Pelosi et al, he will be willing to listen to a dissenting view.

===

Speaking of Pelosi, she has stated in an op ed piece that protesters against the health care bill are "un-American", and that such attacks "can't derail health care debate".

She actually said the following:

"Drowning out opposing views is simply un-American."

Tell that to Kenneth Gladney.

Again, during the Bush administration Democrats were saying dissent was "patriotic". Now, not so much.

Between the White House wanting you to report on anyone who disseminates "fishy" information and Pelosi saying that protesting is "un-American", maybe they should start a Congressional committee that will combine both sections.

What would they call it? I know - the "House Un-American Activities Committee".

Why not? It worked before, didn't it?

===

I have to get to the post office today.

Be seeing you.



===

1 comments so far

Brin aka Bindyree - 2009-08-10 23:23:06 -
From John, sitting here next to me: First they cut back the tellers and want us to use the ATMs. Then they make the ATMs almost too unsafe to use. I guess we're going to have to wait until somebody gets beaten up or killed while making a cash deposit for the reality of how stupid this is to actually sink in to the thick skulls who thought this up.

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.