Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Patience

2009-10-05 - 11:43 a.m.

The temperature has dropped significantly. It actually hit 56 degrees last night, and it's 67 as I write this.

By comparison, it was 93 degrees last Thursday afternoon when I left to go to the Angels game.

===

Speaking of the Angels, they swept the Oakland A's to finish the regular season with a record of 97-65.

The American League Central Division is tied between the Detroit Tigers and the Minnesota Twins. Both have records of 86-76. So a playoff game will happen today to determine who goes up against the Yankees. Since the Yankees have the best record (103-59), they will determine whether their first post-season game will be played on Wednesday or Thursday. The Angels' post-season will start on whichever day the Yankees DON'T pick...so we have to wait until the Yankees make up their minds.

Ordinarily I would hope for Thursday so I could watch the game. But a member of one of my e-mail rings has flown down from her home in Alaska, and we're planning to meet up on Thursday afternoon/evening.

That's what the radio is for.

===

Speaking of the radio...

Saturday was one of those "Chinese-interesting" days.

Firstly, the Angels game was to start at 1pm but NOT appear on FSN until 4pm, on a tape delay. This is one of the reasons why I still have a radio.

Then I got a call from Bob - we are no longer playing at The Other Place (formerly known as Cero's). Evidently the owners "crunched some numbers" and decided they didn't want us anymore.

Ya know...a two-week notice would have been nice, instead of a phone call saying not to show up anymore.

Bob is hunting for another gig. And I'm hunting for another source of income to help pay the vet bill for Laila.

I'd like to apologize to all those folks who were planning to come see us play. I'll let you know where we land.

===

Speaking of the vet bill...

We're getting real close, folks. The home stretch. The final few hundred dollars.

If you would like to contribute, please click on the Paypal button to your left. All monies collected go to the Laila Repair Bill - no administrative costs, no pork projects, no bullshit.

And when it's all paid off, the button comes down. You have my word on that.

We all say thankya.

===

Speaking of Laila...

During the weekend she's been climbing up onto the bed with me and Solange and snuggling in.

This from a cat who doesn't very much like being petted.

She is getting a little more relaxed, I think. If I'm in the bathroom for whatever reason, she'll rub up against my legs and, if she flops down onto the floor, let me pet her. If she's resting on the window perch or on top of the piece of furniture I call the "secretary", I can come up and stroke her a few times without her getting up and moving away from me.

Solange was that way, too. She would jump up into my lap, but sometimes she'd bite and claw me, especially if I touched her paws. Now I can put a fingertip in-between the pads on her feet and she doesn't attack me. But it took a long time before Solange got that comfortable.

Maybe that's the lesson I need to learn here - patience. I want to get out from under my debts, and these financial delays are frustrating. It will happen, and soon.

Patience.

===

Speaking of...oh, never mind. There's no way to link to this next bit.

Sen. Rowland Burris (D-IL) says that it's George W. Bush's fault that Chicago didn't get the Olympics, due to the world's hatred for Bush and the United States.

If that's true, then why was Chicago selected as a finalist way back in June of 2008? You know, when Bush was still in office?

===

Victor Davis Hansen looks here at how often critics of President Obama are called "racists"...and how much of it is true.

===

Okay. Things to do before work. Onward.

Be seeing you.



===

0 comments so far

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.