Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


It's Not Unusual

2010-02-16 - 1:21 p.m.

Last night I saw Avatar.

First, the full disclosure. I had no interest in seeing this movie. This isn't unusual - I really haven't had a lot of interest in ANY movies except for the Pixar releases and Indiana Jones.

After it came out, I started hearing not-so-good things about the story. This didn't make me any more interested.

Brin told me to go see it - that it would "make [me] feel like [I] felt when [I] saw Star Wars". She raved enough that I finally agreed to see it.

So I bought a ticket on Fandango for last night.

===

Per Brin's suggestions, I got to the theater in time to make sure I got a good seat. I needn't have worried - there was only about ten people at the showing.

After the previews (Robin Hood, Knight And Day, Alice In Wonderland, and Shrek Forever), it started.

The effects are indeed very impressive. They immerse you in the world of Pandora seamlessly.

The story? Weak. I sat there and watched...and predicted at least eight events before they happened. Some of the portrayals were so stereotypical I almost guessed what they were going to say before they said it.

Overall impression? Meh.

===

President Obama has announced financing for two new nuclear power plants.

Good. We need them. However, the environmental extremists will fight and protest every step of the way...as usual.

Note this quote:

Obama "has long believed that nuclear power should be part of our energy mix," a senior administration told AFP, speaking on condition of anonymity.

If that's true, why the anonymity? Unless it turns out to NOT be true, in which case the "anonymous" person can't be punished for saying it.

===

Work calls.

Be seeing you.



===

0 comments so far

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.