Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


It's Been Awhile

2010-04-22 - 10:59 a.m.

Egad. It's been awhile, hasn't it?

Well, let me try to bring you all up to speed.

===

Last week was the last part of Brin's visit. We spent as much time as we could at the Park, all the way down to the possibility of a River Belle breakfast on her departure day.

We both decided we were too wiped out for that. So instead we stayed in and had the traditional Papa John's pizza farewell dinner.

I got her to the airport on time...and then had to rush to work for a meeting. Gary The Owner was in town and called an employee meeting that wound up being a reading of rules and regs. Most we knew, some will be new.

But it was supposed to be my day off. I'll get paid for the time, but still.

===

I have been doing a lot of running around lately - lots of work and lots of errands.

Probably the best bit was a visit to a Blockbuster store that was closing. Everything was going, right down to the display racks and the counter. There were only five days left in the sale so I knew most of the good stuff would be gone.

I was right. I did get to pick up the anniversary edition of The Sound Of Music and a copy of the Twilight edition of Scene It for one of the ladies at work (I didn't know if she already had it or not, but at $3 I didn't worry about it).

And work work and more work. Jason has me doing six days, which is okay. And again, these are mostly day shifts...so I don't have time to post in the mornings.

I will start working on evening posts so I don't go this long again without a post.

===

Oh, and speaking of errands...

My vision has been getting a touch worse lately. It's bad enough so I can't read while wearing my glasses - I have to take them off.

So I went to the eye doctor and told him about it. He said to get used to it - that's how it's gonna be unless I want bifocals.

He also did a complete exam. My eyes are healthy - no diabetes-related damage, everything looks good. So that's a relief.

I then priced some new glasses...and a new pair of bifocals will run me $300, even with my medical-plan discount.

The doctor said my current glasses will continue to serve me well. And that's fine - I can see perfectly well to drive, and I just need to take them off to read.

===

There is some good news on the financial front.

I've been working on fixing my credit, having a secured credit card and making payments on time. So I called the bank to try and graduate the card to a "regular" card.

In March I was told that my card "wasn't on the list" for graduation approval. They told me I could apply for a regular card, but I would have to cancel the secured card first...which meant that if my application was rejected I wouldn't even have my secured card. I was told to try again in a month.

Well, a month-and-a-half rolled by. I called. Same story - not on the list. But this time, I was told that I could apply for the regular card and they would cancel the secured card only if my application was approved.

So I applied. And got approved.

My secured card has been canceled and the deposit funds are wafting their way back into my hands. While my credit limit isn't spectacular, it proves that I'm getting better at dealing with my financial situation.

Anyway, this card is pretty much earmarked for emergency purchases. I may do some small items and pay it off immediately - just to help prove I'm a good risk.

But that's later.

===

I'm also learning about my blood sugar - what causes it to go up and what I can do to lower it.

Here's a hint: if you're diabetic, never eat an entire bag of chili cheese Doritos. It was stupid of me, and I paid the price for it.

Portion control, you idiot.

===

This morning I found that Solange's right eye is tearing a little and the eyelid looks a weensy bit swollen.

It's been very windy and rainy for the last couple days, so it may be just a speck of something. I'm going to take her to the vet this afternoon - she's due for an exam anyway.

As for Laila, she's very active. It's like the break never happened.

To all of you who helped and donated, we say thankya.

===

Hey, anybody remember back in the 1970s, when volcano eruptions were supposed to bring an ice age because the ash would block the sun's rays?

Well, now there's a volcano spewing God knows how much ash into the atmosphere, and the only thing you hear about are airline delays.

How come Al Gore and all the "climate change" folks aren't crowing about how this will help cool the earth and help slow down "imminent" global warming?

Maybe because it's almost total bullshit? (Hat tip to Hud's blog.)

===

So. Today.

A visit to the lab to have blood drawn. Picking up some trousers that I'm having altered. Taking Solange to the vet. Lunch in there somewhere.

Oh yes - and the Angels game tonight.

And more posts. I promise.

Be seeing you...sooner this time.



===

1 comments so far

Brin aka Bindyree - 2010-04-22 18:10:26 -
So glad to see you back, dear. Thanks for a great visit!

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.