Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Shakin'

2010-04-30 - 12:50 p.m.

The folks in the downstairs apartment have moved out. They found a bigger place nearer their work.

They were good neighbors - no rowdy parties or anything like that. The only problem I had was when someone staying there overnight had parked in front of my garage door and I had to pound on their door at 730am on a Saturday.

I wish them well, and hope that the eventual new neighbors work out just as well.

===

So for the last couple days there have been workers cleaning and prepping the downstairs apartment. This includes scraping off all the acoustic stuff off the ceiling.

So my whole floor has been shaking and the scrape scrape sounds have been driving us all a bit nuts. The cats have been moving from room to room to avoid the floor vibrations.

Well, it'll be over soon. I hope.

===

I can understand some folks wanting to boycott things from Arizona because of the recently passed anti-immigration law.

But the people who choose to boycott Arizona Iced Tea (one Tweeter called it "the drink of fascists") are idiots - that company was founded in New York and the product is currently bottled in Long Island.

Do your research, dummies.

===

Oh, and this article pretty reasonably debunks some of the arguments against the law, especially the "show us your PAPERS" argument:

On the unfortunate matter of "presenting papers": I have done that numerous times this year � boarding airplanes, purchasing things on a credit card, checking into a hotel, showing a doorman an I.D. when locked out, going to the DMV, and, in one case, pulling off a rural road to use my cell phone in a way that alarmed a chance highway patrolman. An I.D. check to allay "reasonable suspicion" or "probable cause" is very American.

How do Arizona lawmakers feel about securing the borders? Here's one response.

===

Okay. Lunch and work, and then the weekend.

I'll try to be back on Monday.

Be seeing you.



===

4 comments so far

Brin aka Bindyree - 2010-04-30 19:55:36 -
Oh, and the time they started the barbecue grill right below your window and the intake fan brought the charcoal fumes into the bedroom where I was napping and nearly killed me. A real kneeslapper that was.

===

Dave - 2010-04-30 19:57:40 -
Oh, and the dog that liked the kids on the other side of the fence...okay, they were MOSTLY good neighbors.

===

Brin aka Bindyree - 2010-04-30 20:23:00 -
Do you remember, also? That dog laughed!

===

artgnome - 2010-05-02 13:09:05 - http://artgnome.diaryland.com
I so love my Arizona Green Tea, and I will never give it up, NEVER! :)

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.