Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Flying The Flag

2010-05-07 - 11:47 a.m.

Yesterday I took a trip down-state to visit the parents.

After about a half-hour of pleasantries, my stepdad put me to work - they had recently switched over to DirectTV and he was having problems hooking up a set of components. Since I'm the tech expert in the family, I got to figure out what was wrong.

Turns out there was one improper cable and one bad connection. Sixty minutes and one cable purchase later, everything was up and running...and most of the sixty minutes was driving to the not-so-local Radio Shack to get the cable.

Then I got to teach them how to use the camera function on their cell phones, and how to send photos to their respective e-mails (fortunately, the menus on their LG phones are very very similar to my Motorola).

Then came dinner and an interesting request from my stepdad: "Tell us what the story is behind Doctor Who."

It turns out that they had recorded a bunch of episodes when BBC-A ran a marathon, including David Tennant and Matt Smith eps.

So during dinner at The Elephant Bar I got to explain a bunch of Doctor facts and explained about the Daleks. They were especially interested in the Doctor's ability to regenerate and about the Time War.

I think it would be cool if my parents get corrupted converted and become Whovians.

===

And while we were at dinner, the Angels / Red Sox game was on one of the TVs in the bar. The Angels were leading (at the time) 4-2.

When the game was over, they had lost 11-6.

This is gonna be a long season.

===

Anyway, back to the visit.

Then once back at the house, I taught them how to play Escalation, which they enjoyed so much they took my copy and gave me some money to buy a new one (there really isn't a game store in their area). Then my mom crashed, so I played a couple games of YINSH with Bill until we both decided to call it a night.

Then I drove home after promising to come back sooner. We're planning another visit sometime in June.

I'll bring some more games.

===

Comedy Central has decided to become "edgy" again...by developing a new animated series about Jesus Christ.

Again, they are willing to make fun of Jesus, but they cave at showing Mohammed...which makes sense, since offended Christians don't kill you for insulting Jesus.

===

Good for this mom.

This is still America. Her son did nothing wrong.

And there's your title link.

Interesting question: if showing the American flag on Cinco De Mayo could be considered a "provocative act", was the school flying the American flag?

===

I think the "birthers" are wrong, but this cartoon is spot-on.

I bought something with a credit card at Disneyland, and was asked to show my ID - my "papers", if you will. And this is in California.

Where's the outrage?

===

Okay. Got things to do before I go in to work.

Have a good weekend.

Be seeing you.



===

0 comments so far

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.