Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Rain

2006-07-24 - 1:02 p.m.

My alarm went off at 9am on Sunday. I could hear kids in the schoolyard playing soccer, the cheers of the parents...typical.

Till I looked out the window.

Now, it has been hot here in So Cal. Not just hot, but gawdawful hot. It's been in the mid-100s for the last week. On Saturday at 3:50pm, I drove past a bank with a temperature display. It said 107.

Get me? One hundred seven in mid-afternoon.

So when I look out the window Sunday morning, what did I see?

RAIN.

It had rained during the night, and it was still raining at 9am!!

I got ready for work, hopped in the car, and drove in the rain. My car thermometer said 80.

When I got to work, it started POURING.

I couldn't resist. I stood outside with my arms outstretched and let it soak me.

It was a good way to start a day that subsequently went weird. Nothing I can talk about without getting fired. But very weird.

===

The heat is affecting one of my favorite toys.

I have a full-size KLAX video game. It's not quite mint, but it's in really good shape.

The joystick controllers are the originals, and a completely different design from the ones that are made today. The actuator - the thing that presses the switches that make the game do what you want it to - is round, and has a rubber ring glued to it to protect the switches.

I tried playing it last night, and three of the switches weren't working right. I opened it up and looked...and saw that the rubber ring had melted.

Mentally, I'm thinking: I'll have to search eBay for original parts, or replace the joystick with a current one, which will lower the value...

But this morning, the ring had re-solidified, and it played like it always did.

So it's the weather. Again, it finds a way to make my day a little more annoying.

===

In today's paper, there are a couple of odd items.

A new disease has been discovered. It expresses itself as "multiple outbursts that are way out of proportion"...which is a fancy term for someone with a short fuse. So you give it a fancy name, and you get a new disease that will require expensive treatment! And there's no firm definition, so ANYONE could have it!

The article explaining it was published in the Archives of General Psychiatry. So psychiatrists have come up with something new to treat and make even more money. It must be nice.

The other item: US Airways will start selling ad space...on the air-sick bags. Talk about a captive audience.

I can't make this stuff up.

===

Well, enough of that. Be seeing you.



===

2 comments so far

Brin McLaughlin - 2006-07-24 17:20:08 -
I'm actually quite fond of Denis Leary's form of therapy for jerks: "SLAP! Shut the f&ck up!!!"

===

Bob - 2006-07-25 04:07:45 - http://shadowgm.diaryland.com
I have KLAX on the old Atari Lynx. Great game. <> "If you have Disproportionate Intense Behavioral Syndrome, consult your doctor before taking STFU. Side effects of STFU include dizziness, sweating, nausea, intestinal discomfort, sinus pressure, bloating, extreme flatulence, hair loss, sexual dysfunction, warts, bad breath, and decreased appetite. You should not take STFU if you are using MAO inhibitors or are pregnant."

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.