Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry


Previously...

Long Distance Runaround
2010-11-29
Absolutely Right
2010-11-16
Kiss And Say Goodbye
2010-10-07
The Tube
2010-09-26
Never Surrender
2010-09-10


Things & Stuff

Maukie
Wikipedia


Daily Reads

Neal Boortz - Neal's Nuze
Mark Evanier
James Hudnall
Anonymous Speaks





Repaired Cat
says thank you.


Original Set-Up,
Maintenance, and
HTML Goddess:
Brin-Marie McLaughlin

Subsequent Tweaks:
Dave Marron


Takin' Me Back

2006-08-21 - 11:46 a.m.

If you are here from my banner, greetings. To learn a little bit more about me, click here and here. And maybe here.

Since I don't usually post on the weekends, folks who click on my banner might feel like they missed something. Trust me - you haven't.

===

Stayed up late and watched the roast of William Shatner on Comedy Central. As a Trek fan, it was good to see one of our entertainment icons get one of entertainment's biggest honors. There were some video clips of his forty years in the business, including his, er, singing.

The Comedy Central roasts have been uneven over the years, IMHO. Pamela Anderson - funny. Jeff Foxworthy - painfully not funny.

This one was GOOD. Betty White - sweet, clean Betty - got in some very funny, VERY dirty lines. Farrah Fawcett took a page from Georgia Engel 's appearances on the old Dean Martin roasts by not wanting to say anything bad...but getting her shots in. George Takei took a lot of abuse about being gay, but when it was his turn he gave as good as he got (if you'll pardon the expression). George also got off (sorry again) one of the best lines that had to do with Shatner's entrance.

The Queen Of Mean, Lisa Lampanelli, gave her usual acid-tongued rips...while leaning way over the lectern, obviously reading from a script. There's a difference between notes and a script. It was funny, but it looked unprofessional, IMHO again. Maybe they just wanted a constant view down her dress.

Shatner got his rebuttal in, and showed he really does have a sense of humor about himself.

If it shows on repeats, watch it. And if it shows up on DVD, grab it.

===

Irony Of The Year Dept.:

According to an AP report, "white" people are now in the minority here in California.

So...now whites should be able to get better interest rates for home buying and starting a new business. And diversity programs for hiring. Cheaper student loans. Right?

===

Supposedly, tomorrow will be the end of the world. Personally, I doubt it. So much so, that I'll...

...be seeing you.



===

2 comments so far

Dave - 2006-08-22 13:40:10 - http://sinsear777.diaryland.com
I have the Shatner roast TIVOed, but I haven't watched it yet. Now I'm looking forward to it even more

===

Fuzzems - 2006-08-22 14:17:26 - http://fuzzems.diaryland.com
Irony...hmmm...bravo

===

Previous - Next - Leave A Note - Random

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

THE LEGAL STUFF: All content on this site that was created by me is copyright 2006-2011 Dave Marron. This diary features the sole opinions and experiences of one person, namely me, the person who is paying for the space. All incoming email is subject to publication or other distribution by me in whole or in part at my sole discretion. Anything else on these pages including any comments belongs to whoever created it. In the interest of safety and accountability, no anonymous comments will ever be allowed here, ever, for any reason in the entire history of ever. The comments section is part of my paid presence on the web, and is used by my readership to supplement the things I have written here with relevent information in a polite manner. Comments that do not fall in that category are subject to deletion at my whim. Your use of my comments section constitutes the understanding of this statement. If you want to leave a comment and you're not a member of Diaryland, go here. If you are a Diaryland member, here's the login screen. News excerpts used here are for educational purposes and are permitted under the Fair Use Doctrine.